**NEW** DSUCPv2.5 Release **NEW**

This is the place for chit chat! Everything goes even Star Trek! Just make sure to buy the Moderator a drink!

Moderators: K_Kinnison, Darksaber, General_Trageton

Re: Great Job!!! Darksaber, on the DSUCP v2....

Rookie_One1
Lieutenant Commander
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 1197
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 12:01 am

Post by Rookie_One1 » Thu May 10, 2012 2:39 am

near perfect, only problem i saw up to now was the ion cannons that are now green....with ion turbolaser sound :lachtot:

also is it normal that i can install both SSD ?
Last edited by Rookie_One1 on Thu May 10, 2012 2:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
Rookie One, is that you?? - Ru Merleen, Rebel Spy at Imdaar Alpha
Current Holder of the Frying Pan of Death

User avatar
Red_Leader
Ensign
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Red_Leader » Thu May 10, 2012 2:50 am

Rookie_One1 wrote:near perfect, only problem i saw up to now was the ion cannons that are now green....with ion turbolaser sound :lachtot:
Same here. Did you choose Blue or Purple? I chose Blue, so I'm wondering if its an error on both options or just one color.
"I want my sanity back." - Wedge Antilles

Rookie_One1
Lieutenant Commander
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 1197
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 12:01 am

Post by Rookie_One1 » Thu May 10, 2012 2:56 am

i chose blue

now trying purple

EDIt : purple have the same problem

Also i did some additionnal tests, it seems that the advanced missile look like asteroids when fired :lachtot:
Rookie One, is that you?? - Ru Merleen, Rebel Spy at Imdaar Alpha
Current Holder of the Frying Pan of Death

User avatar
WildstarBlue9
Lieutenant
Posts: 968
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 12:01 am

Post by WildstarBlue9 » Thu May 10, 2012 10:38 pm

Quick question about the cutscenes: Are these completely new cutscenes or just the old/original ones converted to use modern codecs?
Wildstar, Red 2 (XO)

CRS Morning Star: Home of Red Squadron

Not the Wildstar that authored IMCGen.

DarkLordZekrom
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:42 am

Post by DarkLordZekrom » Fri May 11, 2012 5:00 am

Excellent work, DS. Much better selection of ships than the original DSUCP. However, it's missing a few ships I kind of like, like the TIE/GT and the Eclipse, there is no option whether to install the blue T/F or the gray T/F (I actually like the ANH one better), the Vulture Droid is still not available in CIS colors, no offense to whoever made it but the StarViper is still very inaccurate, and the Moldy Crow looks dated compared to the new models. However, the new ships are very good, especially GT's TIE Reaper, and DTM did an excellent job on the new Naboo Fighter and Mon Remonda.
Will the Marauder and Pinook be incorporated into the XWAUP? Just wondering.

User avatar
DTM
Lieutenant
XWAU Member
Posts: 947
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by DTM » Fri May 11, 2012 8:37 am

Unfortunatly the slots for added craft is limited. DS was able to use all of them without loosing original objects.
You can always install new ships replacing what you consider not useful for your purpose. Obviously DS is not responsable when you modify something on you system.
@DS: is there a problem if you install new custom ships on the UCP2? Is there a right procedure for that?

MTD industries
WIPs: XWA campaign based on Rebels TV Show

CHThree
Recruit
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 9:19 am

Post by CHThree » Fri May 11, 2012 9:39 am

Hi,

I am new here because I have just discovered that there is life in XWA yet!

I have done a clean install of XWA, patched to 2.02 which worked fine, then installed DSUCP on top. Unfortunately there is a bug in my graphics and it looks like this.
Screen shot.jpg
Screen shot.jpg (209.4 KiB) Viewed 6905 times
I am runing Widows XP Pro SP3 , 2.00 GB RAM, a GeForce 8600 GT, Intel Core Duo E8400 3.00Ghz, Direct X 9.0c and the latest Nvidia driver.

Any suggestions on how to fix this?

Thanks

Rookie_One1
Lieutenant Commander
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 1197
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 12:01 am

Post by Rookie_One1 » Fri May 11, 2012 8:41 pm

first did you activate de 3d hardware setting ?

2nsd what does it look like without UCP ?
Rookie One, is that you?? - Ru Merleen, Rebel Spy at Imdaar Alpha
Current Holder of the Frying Pan of Death

rookiecortex
Recruit
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 1:46 am

Post by rookiecortex » Sat May 12, 2012 2:32 am

Hi Darksaber. Great job on the UCP! I love all the new sounds and craft, although they definitely push my little laptop to the brink. :D

I actually just wanted to point out something for those out there who've installed XWA on Win7 Home 64-bit using Markus Egger's Installer Patch (http://www.markusegger.at/Software/Games/) using the default settings. It turns out that, because Markus's installer puts the game in the "C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\X-Wing Alliance" by default, any user data (such as player pilot files, mission data, etc.) is placed into your Windows user's virtual storage ("C:\Users\{USERNAME}\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\X-Wing Alliance") if XWA isn't run as administrator when you play the game.

This means that you'll have to place this data into the actual game install directory ("C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\X-Wing Alliance") before you run the DSUCPv2.0 installer (as administrator, of course). Alternatively, you could run X-Wing Alliance itself as administrator and create a new temporary user before installing DSUPCv2.0 (as administator). Once installed, you could safely delete the user data you copied over to the XWA game directory or the new user you created.

If this was already stated somewhere, I apologize. I haven't had time to read all the DSUCP docs. Also, to Darksaber, I'm not sure why the installer requires there be a pilot file, but would it be possible to let it search "C:\Users\{USERNAME}\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\X-Wing Alliance" in addition to the XWA install directory? This would avoid the above step.

Anyway, thanks again, Darksaber, for all the work you've done, be it the UCP/installer or your many other projects. I've definitely gotten back into XWA as a result. ^_^

-Cortex

EDIT: Just a quick clarification. The copying data/new pilot as administrator thing only applies if you've installed XWA using the default settings on Markus's installer, or even on the default XWA installer if you somehow got it to work. If you installed XWA into another, unprotected directory (such as C:\XWA or your user's home directory), you won't have to run DSUCP as administrator (unless you're installing the MPEG-4 codecs) or copy over the pilot files. This was just for the other newbs out there like me. :D

EDIT 2: Edited the above post to make some details clearer.

User avatar
DTM
Lieutenant
XWAU Member
Posts: 947
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by DTM » Sat May 12, 2012 9:16 am

UCP2 is online :hurra2:

MTD industries
WIPs: XWA campaign based on Rebels TV Show

CHThree
Recruit
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 9:19 am

Post by CHThree » Sat May 12, 2012 9:27 am

first did you activate de 3d hardware setting ?
The first time I ran the game the 3d hardware setting in the in game menu was greyed out so I could not amend it but already set to "yes". The second time it wasn't greyed but was still set to "yes". I haven't changed any settings myself.
2nsd what does it look like without UCP ?
It looked like it did back in the day, that is to say relatively lo-res but playable and working as I would expect.

I have tried the ddraw.dll with no success, and I have tried the XWAhacker 32bitmopde.bat fix to no avail.

I have also read that the problem is actually caused by running on Windows XP but Darksaber's site says this has been tested on an XP system.

Cheers

CHThree

Charger116
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 12:31 pm

Post by Charger116 » Sat May 12, 2012 12:38 pm

Hey, I just literally created an account! First of all, I just wanted to say that I am an absolutely huge Star Wars fan and XWA is one of my favourite games of all time. I recently stumbled across the XWAU and I've got to say, the work you have all done here is remarkable - the level of detail to the new crafts gives such a breath of fresh air to the already fantastic game. Thank you so much, and it's great to see that people are still interested in this timeless classic! Was beggining to think I was all alone or something. :D

Darksaber, I would like to personally thank you for the UCP - it must of took a lot of time, patience and evident testing to get it right! I installed your first craft pack, and it was amazing!

Finally, rookiecortex, thank you for your post. I was going insane as I couldn't get it to install, but after following your guide and realizing it was due to me following Markus Egger's method, I finally got it to start installing - I can't wait to try it out! :D

User avatar
darklord
Lieutenant JG
Galactic Empire
Posts: 747
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by darklord » Sat May 12, 2012 12:44 pm

@CHThree

Yah, the game has always worked in XP. And I can vouch that it continues to do so.
I have almost the same specs as you, save an intel core duo 2 and Mobile version of the NVidia8600, and it works. Long shot, you aren't running the game in some compatibility mode are you? There was the nvidia graphics card flicker fix as part of the xwahacker but DSUCP should have already installed that. That's all I got right now.

CHThree
Recruit
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 11, 2012 9:19 am

Post by CHThree » Sun May 13, 2012 7:49 pm

Okay, I have solved that problem above by installing an older version of the Nvidia drivers. Now all objects leave trails of themselves when they move -starts, ships etc.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

User avatar
n8weigel
Cadet 1st Class
Galactic Empire
Posts: 186
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 11:01 pm

Post by n8weigel » Tue May 15, 2012 1:36 am

Hey DS, I'm now testing the current DSUCP 2.0 and I found that the TIE Experimental M3 (Warhead) fires lasers as if it had a turret like the Otana or Falcon. I've run into this problem before on past installs with the TIE Experimental M5. Not sure why this happens. It might not be related to the DSUCP. I'll keep testing and let you know what else I find. All of my previous points were fixed with this version.

Thanks again
Nate

EDIT: I reinstalled the TIE Experimental M3 from XWAUP and everything ran just fine. I'm not sure what the problem was, but it probably was not related to the DSUCP. No worries.
"May warrior's fortune smile on our efforts." - Mitth'raw'nuruodo

User avatar
Q
Ensign
Posts: 422
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Q » Thu May 17, 2012 3:32 pm

CHThree wrote:Okay, I have solved that problem above by installing an older version of the Nvidia drivers. Now all objects leave trails of themselves when they move: stars, ships etc.
I had the exact same issue with my XWA install using DSUCP v2! I have an old Nvidia GeForce 7800 GS running with the 280.26 drivers. My old XWA install which included DSUCP v1 worked fine while the new XWA install with DSUCP v2 had this problem.

It seems the DSUCP v2 adds a new DDraw.dll to the XWA installation which is supposed to help fix display issues with newer graphics cards. The solution for me was to simply delete the DDraw.dll from my XWA installation. Now everything displays 100% and works perfectly! ;)
"I like work; it fascinates me. I can sit and look at it for hours."

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 9227
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sat May 26, 2012 10:52 am

Rookie_One1 wrote:near perfect, only problem i saw up to now was the ion cannons that are now green....with ion turbolaser sound

also is it normal that i can install both SSD ?
Has anyone else had this problem with the Ion Lasers or the SSD?? I only asks as my Ions are Blue or Purple and I can only select one of the SSD options and not both.
WildstarBlue9 wrote:Quick question about the cutscenes: Are these completely new cutscenes or just the old/original ones converted to use modern codecs?
No, there is only one added/altered cutscene that comes with the DSUCPv2.0 the rest of the cutscenes are in there original format, if or when the TFTCv2.0 gets released most of the cutscenes will be replaced.
DarkLordZekrom wrote:Excellent work, DS. Much better selection of ships than the original DSUCP. However, it's missing a few ships I kind of like, like the TIE/GT and the Eclipse, there is no option whether to install the blue T/F or the gray T/F (I actually like the ANH one better), the Vulture Droid is still not available in CIS colors, no offense to whoever made it but the StarViper is still very inaccurate, and the Moldy Crow looks dated compared to the new models. However, the new ships are very good, especially GT's TIE Reaper, and DTM did an excellent job on the new Naboo Fighter and Mon Remonda.
Will the Marauder and Pinook be incorporated into the XWAUP? Just wondering.
Sorry but I can't please everyone, the Tie/GT was replace as I thought there where too many Tie's added to the DSUCPv1.1, the Eclipse was replaced, due to it being old and outdated. The other ships you mention are in there because no one has made anything better yet, put it this way, if you don't like it make it yourself!!
DTM wrote:@DS: is there a problem if you install new custom ships on the UCP2? Is there a right procedure for that?
No there shouldn't be a problem, you should be able to replace any of the custom opts
CHThree wrote:Hi,

I am new here because I have just discovered that there is life in XWA yet!

I have done a clean install of XWA, patched to 2.02 which worked fine, then installed DSUCP on top. Unfortunately there is a bug in my graphics and it looks like this.

I am running Widows XP Pro SP3 , 2.00 GB RAM, a GeForce 8600 GT, Intel Core Duo E8400 3.00Ghz, Direct X 9.0c and the latest Nvidia driver.

Any suggestions on how to fix this?

Thanks
Already fixed this, it's because you have an Nvidia Card, the DSUCPv2.0 automatically installs a custom DDraw.dll to the XWA Dir, in the next version it will give you the option to install the DDraw.dll or not, this file is specifically for use with ATI video cards, so those people that have Nvidia Card will have to deselect this option.

Any other graphic issues such as widescreen and so on will have to be solved with XWAHacker, installing the DSUCPv2.0 DOES NOT solve ANY graphics issues.
rookiecortex wrote:Hi Darksaber. Great job on the UCP! I love all the new sounds and craft, although they definitely push my little laptop to the brink. :D

I actually just wanted to point out something for those out there who've installed XWA on Win7 Home 64-bit using Markus Egger's Installer Patch (http://www.markusegger.at/Software/Games/) using the default settings. It turns out that, because Markus's installer puts the game in the "C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\X-Wing Alliance" by default, any user data (such as player pilot files, mission data, etc.) is placed into your Windows user's virtual storage ("C:\Users\{USERNAME}\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\X-Wing Alliance") if XWA isn't run as administrator when you play the game.

This means that you'll have to place this data into the actual game install directory ("C:\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\X-Wing Alliance") before you run the DSUCPv2.0 installer (as administrator, of course). Alternatively, you could run X-Wing Alliance itself as administrator and create a new temporary user before installing DSUPCv2.0 (as administator). Once installed, you could safely delete the user data you copied over to the XWA game directory or the new user you created.

If this was already stated somewhere, I apologize. I haven't had time to read all the DSUCP docs. Also, to Darksaber, I'm not sure why the installer requires there be a pilot file, but would it be possible to let it search "C:\Users\{USERNAME}\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\LucasArts\X-Wing Alliance" in addition to the XWA install directory? This would avoid the above step.

Anyway, thanks again, Darksaber, for all the work you've done, be it the UCP/installer or your many other projects. I've definitely gotten back into XWA as a result. ^_^

-Cortex

EDIT: Just a quick clarification. The copying data/new pilot as administrator thing only applies if you've installed XWA using the default settings on Markus's installer, or even on the default XWA installer if you somehow got it to work. If you installed XWA into another, unprotected directory (such as C:\XWA or your user's home directory), you won't have to run DSUCP as administrator (unless you're installing the MPEG-4 codecs) or copy over the pilot files. This was just for the other newbs out there like me. :D

EDIT 2: Edited the above post to make some details clearer.
First I'll removed the checks for the Pilot and Config.cfg files, so you should be able to install the DSUCPv2.0 without any problems, I have also fixed the problems with the UAC and the DSUCPv2.0 will install as administrator.
n8weigel wrote:Hey DS, I'm now testing the current DSUCP 2.0 and I found that the TIE Experimental M3 (Warhead) fires lasers as if it had a turret like the Otana or Falcon. I've run into this problem before on past installs with the TIE Experimental M5. Not sure why this happens. It might not be related to the DSUCP. I'll keep testing and let you know what else I find. All of my previous points were fixed with this version.

Thanks again
Nate

EDIT: I reinstalled the TIE Experimental M3 from XWAUP and everything ran just fine. I'm not sure what the problem was, but it probably was not related to the DSUCP. No worries.
I've fixed this so there won't be any need to install the XWAUP Tie Experimental M3 (Warhead), thanks for pointing that out Nate :)
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

Rookie_One1
Lieutenant Commander
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 1197
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 12:01 am

Post by Rookie_One1 » Sat May 26, 2012 5:26 pm

i just redownloaded it and reinstalled the whole thing (XWA, patch and DSUCP)

now, i can only select one SSD(good), Ion cannon are blue (good), still have turbolaser sound on ion cannons(bad), and Advanced missile is the warhead now instead of an asteroid (good)
Rookie One, is that you?? - Ru Merleen, Rebel Spy at Imdaar Alpha
Current Holder of the Frying Pan of Death

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 9227
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sat May 26, 2012 5:30 pm

I've not uploaded the new version yet, so I'd wait until I've posted on my site that I have fixed and uploaded it again, sorry
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

Rookie_One1
Lieutenant Commander
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 1197
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 12:01 am

Post by Rookie_One1 » Sat May 26, 2012 5:32 pm

no problems, one day or the other we will resolve all those bugs :)
Rookie One, is that you?? - Ru Merleen, Rebel Spy at Imdaar Alpha
Current Holder of the Frying Pan of Death

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 9227
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sun May 27, 2012 11:45 pm

OK new version available hopefully it fixes the problem people where having.

Darksaber's Ultimate Craft Pack v2.01 is now available

Darksaber's X-Wing Station
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
Dragon
Lieutenant Commander
Galactic Empire
Posts: 1111
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Dragon » Mon May 28, 2012 10:49 am

The error with the TIE Experimental M3 is still there. (Turret lasers)
Everthing else looks good.
Every story has four sides to it: yours, the others, the truth and what really happend.
"You have failed me for the last time, Admiral."

Image

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 9227
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Mon May 28, 2012 12:12 pm

Blimey, :kopfwand:

Thanks Dragon ;)

Ok I've compared the settings for the Xwaup Installer with what I had set for the UCP, seems there was an error with the Start and End racks for the missiles, I had Start 4 End 5 when it should have been Start 0 End 1 therefore you where getting the turreted lasers.

I've fixed this and I'm recompiling the installer, it should be up again within the next hour.

Thanks again Dragon, and sorry for the error :(

EDIT: OK it's available again.
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

Rookie_One1
Lieutenant Commander
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 1197
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 12:01 am

Post by Rookie_One1 » Tue May 29, 2012 1:39 pm

NEarly perfect, i just tried everything, and there is only one minor bug:

Transparacy problem with cloakshape fighter cockpit exterior model

reinstalling the ship with the original from XWAUP resolved it. nothing major tought, since its only the exterior model.

for the rest, perfect :D
Rookie One, is that you?? - Ru Merleen, Rebel Spy at Imdaar Alpha
Current Holder of the Frying Pan of Death

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 9227
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Tue May 29, 2012 1:45 pm

Sorry but your wrong!!
cloak.jpg
cloak.jpg (91.24 KiB) Viewed 6489 times
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

Post Reply