Massive graphical issues/artifacts with XWA and ATI Graphics

Need help with hardware? Game doesn't run? System wont boot? We might be able to help!

Moderators: Darksaber, Forceflow, decoy

Post Reply

Massive graphical issues/artifacts with XWA and ATI Graphics

TehTDK
Recruit
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:28 pm

Post by TehTDK » Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:05 pm

Hey,

I hope someone might be able to help and point me in the right direction so I can fix this issue and play this great game once again. The graphics is fine inside the main interface, but the second I get to the actual flying it goes haywire.

When I first enter the cockpit i see this:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11843124/XWA/20 ... .36.54.jpg

However once I move the mouse or joystick it turns into this:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11843124/XWA/20 ... .37.06.jpg

And here are a few more images of the "error" in effect:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11843124/XWA/20 ... .36.31.jpg

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11843124/XWA/20 ... .37.16.jpg

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11843124/XWA/20 ... .37.25.jpg

Not sure what is wrong, and I even tried updating the new drivers but that did not help at all :/. Any and all help is welcomed and appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

ZanElJOK
Cadet 3rd Class
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 3:30 am

Post by ZanElJOK » Sat Aug 27, 2011 4:35 am

Read stickies particularly http://www.xwaupgrade.com/phpBB3008/vie ... =10&t=9625 it helped me with my HD 3800
May the Force be with you all.

TehTDK
Recruit
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:28 pm

Post by TehTDK » Mon Aug 29, 2011 2:01 pm

Well neither of those things really provide a solution to my problem. Albeit I havent tried the editing exe file simply because I would rather stay out of things I don't really know a lot about :P

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 9460
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Mon Aug 29, 2011 2:24 pm

Well if you want to fix your problem I suggest you try to learn
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

TehTDK
Recruit
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:28 pm

Post by TehTDK » Mon Aug 29, 2011 10:44 pm

Well, someone already fixed the problem. What about that solution was made publically available so people could simply download the patched file.

Mababama
Recruit
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:01 am

Post by Mababama » Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:04 am

FOR THE BLACK SQUARES: Press ESCAPE> Video option> single player> 3D hardware = NO

It worked for me, hope it does for you.

Mababama
Recruit
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:01 am

Post by Mababama » Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:16 am

Mababama wrote:FOR THE BLACK SQUARES: Press ESCAPE> Video option> single player> 3D hardware = NO

It worked for me, hope it does for you.

Ok it get rid of the square problem but completly F*** UP the models, they are all black and brown with no texture :kopfwand: if I enable the 3D hardware, the black squares come back and the ship model are good again...sigh... well at least this might give a clue of what to do next ? :D

Mababama
Recruit
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:01 am

Post by Mababama » Thu Sep 01, 2011 1:36 am

Mababama wrote:
Mababama wrote:FOR THE BLACK SQUARES: Press ESCAPE> Video option> single player> 3D hardware = NO

It worked for me, hope it does for you.

Ok it get rid of the square problem but completly F*** UP the models, they are all black and brown with no texture :kopfwand: if I enable the 3D hardware, the black squares come back and the ship model are good again...sigh... well at least this might give a clue of what to do next ? :D

Hours later I fond an awsome solution :D wich is :

http://xvt.uharc.net/tech:bugs

Read it all and you'll be ahppy you did

addicted to rage
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 9:28 am

Post by addicted to rage » Thu Sep 01, 2011 10:09 am

good link that and it tells me that my problem is yet unsolved :(

Post Reply