Two problems with 1.6 and VR

Any issues with the XWAU or X-Wing Alliance? Please let us know here!
Post Reply

Two problems with 1.6 and VR

User avatar
Mike Wazowsky
Recruit
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:31 am

Post by Mike Wazowsky » Tue Aug 11, 2020 6:00 pm

Hey y'all, superb job pimping this star ride!

Just two problems:

1. In the sim, I cannot select any battle except for the Azzameen one, the first... There used to be two sets of white arrows beside the pictures. The top, bigger pair has disappeared.

2. I have installed dynamic cockpits but they just fail to activate, old HUD is on again (this on all @-Wings and TIEs).

Thanks, may the Force keep being with y'all!
"Better Lucky Thank Good, Luke!" (Han Solo, unheard)

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Tue Aug 11, 2020 8:20 pm

The sim only allows you to fly missions you have already completed. So maybe you switched pilots or a new one was created?

For the dynamic cockpits, make sure that you have enabled them. You can either install them again, or open "Dynamic_Cockpit.cfg" and make sure that you have "dynamic_cockpit_enabled = 1" near the top. Also check the contents of your XWA-Install-Dir\DynamicCockpit directory. If it's empty, then they are probably not going to work. If that fails, please post a picture of the problem.

User avatar
Mike Wazowsky
Recruit
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:31 am

Post by Mike Wazowsky » Thu Aug 13, 2020 8:16 pm

Hey blue_max, thanks (and, you are a genius bro!).

Anyway:

All missions complete... check (using the FongFong cheat too)
dynamic_cockpit_enabled = 1... check
DynamicCockpit directory... check, full of picture files of cockpit objects

But no change... everything works fine but no battles except Azzameen Family and still seeing the old hud screens.
yelp!
:? :hilfe:
"Better Lucky Thank Good, Luke!" (Han Solo, unheard)

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Thu Aug 13, 2020 10:30 pm

Mike Wazowsky wrote:
Thu Aug 13, 2020 8:16 pm
But no change... everything works fine but no battles except Azzameen Family and still seeing the old hud screens.
Not all cockpits are DC-enabled at the moment. Only the rebel and imperial cockpits have been updated (X/W, Y/W, A/W, B/W and the TIE family). The Azzameen Family missions I believe all take place on Corellian transports, which haven't been updated yet (but will be in the future). Can you try a skirmish mission on an X-Wing, for instance? That should show the dynamic cockpit elements.

As for your other problem, I'm not sure. I'd try with a different pilot. Actually, have you checked what pilot is being loaded? Maybe you think you're using one pilot while the game is loading a different one.

User avatar
Mike Wazowsky
Recruit
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:31 am

Post by Mike Wazowsky » Fri Aug 14, 2020 2:32 pm

How frustrating! I confirm I am using X- and Y-wing and still have no dynamic cockpit...

As per the pilot, I used piloteer (a pilot editor utility) and placed myself in Battle 3 along the career. In the sim I could select all Battle 3 missions, but could not change battle (the big white arrows beside the selection screen have gone). Mmmmhhh...
"Better Lucky Thank Good, Luke!" (Han Solo, unheard)

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4793
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Fri Aug 14, 2020 2:59 pm

Mike Wazowsky wrote:
Fri Aug 14, 2020 2:32 pm
How frustrating! I confirm I am using X- and Y-wing and still have no dynamic cockpit...

As per the pilot, I used piloteer (a pilot editor utility) and placed myself in Battle 3 along the career. In the sim I could select all Battle 3 missions, but could not change battle (the big white arrows beside the selection screen have gone). Mmmmhhh...
Have you reinstalled the Rebel dynamic cockpits?
Make sure you select "I don't need the HUD anymore" in all the options.
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Fri Aug 14, 2020 9:14 pm

More questions: are you perhaps running Jeremy's ddraw? What version do you see when you put the cursor over ddraw.dll in the Explorer? Do you see any other effects activated, like bloom?

May I also suggest that you install release 1.1.4.0?

User avatar
Mike Wazowsky
Recruit
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:31 am

Post by Mike Wazowsky » Sat Aug 15, 2020 9:25 am

Thanks for the help, y'all.

OMG Blue Max, this release is a dream come true, it looks unreal in VR! (And the dynamic cockpit works...)!!!
SW Squadrons will have to work hard to beat this... Modern graphic gimmicks aside.

Still stuck with the Battle selection problem, but I can work around it...

May the Force be with you... in full VR!
"Better Lucky Thank Good, Luke!" (Han Solo, unheard)

Ronin65
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 1:00 pm

Post by Ronin65 » Sat Aug 15, 2020 2:36 pm

Have you tried creating a new pilot?

User avatar
Mike Wazowsky
Recruit
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:31 am

Post by Mike Wazowsky » Sun Aug 16, 2020 10:45 am

Yes, TY.

The problem does not seem to be the pilot but the disappearance from UI of the big white arrows that allow to change battle.
"Better Lucky Thank Good, Luke!" (Han Solo, unheard)

Ronin65
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 1:00 pm

Post by Ronin65 » Sun Aug 16, 2020 11:04 am

Hi Mike,

Your problem has absolutely nothing to do with dynamic cockpits, ddraw.dlls, or the new effects

But a littler more info would be helpful

How did you install XWA, from Disc, GOG or Steam?

And what did you install after that XWAUCP or DSUCP?

Any other mods?

I only ask as the arrows your referring to are in a file called FrontEnd2.dat, which is in your Resdata folder

One reason you could have lost the arrows, is that you may have installed quiet a few individual craft installers?

Could you post the contents of your Resdata.txt file please, use the code display </>

Thanks

User avatar
Mike Wazowsky
Recruit
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 12:31 am

Post by Mike Wazowsky » Tue Aug 25, 2020 10:53 pm

Ronin65 wrote:
Sun Aug 16, 2020 11:04 am
1. Your problem has absolutely nothing to do with dynamic cockpits, ddraw.dlls, or the new effects

2. How did you install XWA, from Disc, GOG or Steam?

3. And what did you install after that XWAUCP or DSUCP? Any other mods? One reason you could have lost the arrows, is that you may have installed quiet a few individual craft installers?

4. Could you post the contents of your Resdata.txt file please, use the code display </>

Thanks
Hey Ronin, thanks. Quick answers (I have numbered your questions)

1. you are right, got that ALMOST sorted

2. GOG

3. XWAUCP, then all of the effects, hooks, and extra craft from XWAU at present date, nothing else. Could it be a leftover from a campaign I installed a long while ago? I think I re-did everything from scratch back then, but go figure...

4. sure

Code: Select all

Resdata\ShipStuffShipYard.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffVSD2.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffISD2.dat
Resdata\Frontend_CrewRoom.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffZ95.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffVSD1.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffTWing.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffSSD.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffStorm.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffShuttle.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffSenArr.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffRepYard.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffModFrigate.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffIRS.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffGunPlatform.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffGunPads.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffDread.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffCTrans.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffConPack.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffCUV.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffCasino.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffBulkCruiser.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffATR.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffAS.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffSlaveTwo.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffLuxury.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffCorvette.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffXWAUCP1.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffXWAUCP2.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffXWAUCP3.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffXWAUCP4.dat
Resdata\ShipStuffXWAUCP5.dat
Resdata\Hull_Icons_XWAUCP.dat
Resdata\Map_Icons_XWAUCP.dat
Resdata\Animations.dat
Resdata\Backdrop.dat
Resdata\Debris.dat
Resdata\DSFire.dat
Resdata\Explosions.dat
Resdata\Fonts.dat
Resdata\Galaxy.dat
Resdata\Nebula.dat
Resdata\Particles.dat
Resdata\Planet.dat
Resdata\Sparks.dat
Resdata\WrapBack.dat
Resdata\Hud.dat
Resdata\FrontPlanet.dat
Resdata\LightingEffects.dat
Resdata\Chaff.dat
Resdata\BlastMarks.dat
Resdata\DeathStarII.dat
Resdata\Trails.dat
Resdata\Frontend.dat
Resdata\Frontend2.dat
Resdata\Cursor.dat
Resdata\Map_Icons.dat
Resdata\Map_Icons_Green.dat
Resdata\Map_Icons_Red.dat
Resdata\Map_Icons_Yellow.dat
Resdata\Map_Icons_Blue.dat
Resdata\Map_Icons_Purple.dat
Resdata\Hull_Icons.dat
Resdata\Hull_Icons_White.dat
Resdata\Hull_Icons_Green.dat
Resdata\Hull_Icons_Yellow.dat
Resdata\Hull_Icons_Red.dat
Resdata\Craft_Icons.dat
Resdata\Shipstuff1.dat
Resdata\Shipstuff2.dat
Resdata\Shipstuff3.dat
Resdata\Shipstuff4.dat
"Better Lucky Thank Good, Luke!" (Han Solo, unheard)

Post Reply