INFO: Common graphic problems with XWA

Any issues with the XWAU or X-Wing Alliance? Please let us know here!
Post Reply

Re: INFO: Common graphic problems with XWA

sith
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 9:32 pm

Post by sith » Sat Oct 28, 2017 2:03 pm

Thanks for Your Reply!

I'm using 1680x1050 resolution, and all hooks and models which was included with XWAU Craft Pack v1.4 by default. I set EnableMultisamplingAntialiasing = 0 and EnableAnisotropicFiltering = 0 and lower resolution to 1280x800 but it does not really help. So I decided to remove craft pack now it works smooth.

Now the question is, because I would like to have some updated graphic (mostly ships), So, should I install all crafts one by one, or use some different pack like Darksaber?

Best regards

Hivecontrol
Recruit
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 5:33 pm

Post by Hivecontrol » Tue Jul 14, 2020 6:03 pm

Hello, I am new and tried the search but....

OK my Problem: I do have a 21:9 screen with 3840x1600px. The resolution is not so important as the screen ratio. So I do have to adjust the ratio. Downloaded XWAhacker 3.2 but was not able to get it run. It just did not start and the readme file was not very helpful either. Maybe I need to install it proper... I just unpacked it and tried to run the exe.

What can I do from here? Usually I just tweak a cfg file and 21:9 is ready to go.

Thanks
Marc

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2628
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Tue Jul 14, 2020 7:08 pm

Hello,
Which version of XWAHacker have you downloaded?
You need xwahacker-gui-0.32-win.zip to have a GUI.

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:48 pm

Hivecontrol wrote:
Tue Jul 14, 2020 6:03 pm
Hello, I am new and tried the search but....

OK my Problem: I do have a 21:9 screen with 3840x1600px. The resolution is not so important as the screen ratio. So I do have to adjust the ratio. Downloaded XWAhacker 3.2 but was not able to get it run. It just did not start and the readme file was not very helpful either. Maybe I need to install it proper... I just unpacked it and tried to run the exe.

What can I do from here? Usually I just tweak a cfg file and 21:9 is ready to go.
Thanks
Marc
JeremyaFr wrote:
Tue Jul 14, 2020 7:08 pm
Hello,
Which version of XWAHacker have you downloaded?
You need xwahacker-gui-0.32-win.zip to have a GUI.
Can't it also be done with Hook_Resolution.cfg? I thought that was it's intention.
Hivecontrol backup the original file in the main XWA folder and try this file.
Hook_Resolution.zip

Here is the latest XWA Hacker. You can also get an app version on the Microsoft App store
xwahacker-gui-0.32-win.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2628
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Wed Jul 15, 2020 8:41 am

Ace Antilles wrote:
Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:48 pm
Can't it also be done with Hook_Resolution.cfg? I thought that was it's intention.
Yes, the 2 methods exist.

D_funk
Recruit
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 5:51 am

Post by D_funk » Mon Jul 27, 2020 6:04 am

Hi! I'm super new to modding and am trying to figure things out. I'm not really a coder myself. I just installed XWA on my new(er) gaming laptop I picked up last year and I'm trying to fine tune the mods. I downloaded and installed all of the items recommended on the download page and overall the game looks amazing and handles fantastically! (Thanks to all of you for doing all this work over such a long time!) The only problem I'm having is that the game lags and slows way down intermittently during takeoffs and landings. Sometimes it's fine. Sometimes it goes super slow. Sometimes it goes super slow and it'll sudden speed up like it's trying to catch up from the frame rate slowing down so much. So far it only does this during the takeoff/landing sequences. No idea why. Should I uninstall/reinstall one of the individual mods and changes the setup options when reinstalling? Should I uninstall everything and reinstall them one-at-a-time, checking between each one? (ugh) Just wanted to make sure there wasn't something obvious I could tweak before I go to all that trouble. Thanks in advance!

System:
win10-64
Core i7 2.2ghz x 6 cores
Geforce RTX 2070 8gb
RAM- 32gb

User avatar
Forceflow

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 6050
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 1999 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Forceflow » Mon Jul 27, 2020 7:47 am

Check in our XWA directory. There should be a file called:
DDraw.cfg
Amongst other things there should be a setting for vSynch:

Code: Select all

; EnableVSync = 0 (vsync off) or 1 (vsync on)
EnableVSync = 0
; The following setting overrides EnableVSync while in the hangar.
; Setting it to 1 may help improve performance in the hangar
EnableVSyncInHangar = 1
I am not sure if that is already available in the 1.3.2 effects. So if not you might want to install the Beta Version from the downloads page. That should fix the issue.
Murphy was an optimist! I am a pessimist!
And always remember that a smile is cheaper than a bullet! (District 9)
Webmaster of the X-Wing Alliance Upgrade Project

D_funk
Recruit
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 5:51 am

Post by D_funk » Mon Jul 27, 2020 5:44 pm

Thanks for getting back to me so quickly!

Alas, "EnableVSyncInHangar" DDraw.cfg was already set to "1." :-/ I assume there's no chance that switching it to 0 instead might make any difference? Any other suggestions?

If it makes a difference, it does the same thing regardless of if I'm entering/exiting the hanger at the beginning, end, or repairing/reloading mid-mission. Maybe it's a little less pronounced in the middle of a mission?

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1368
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Mon Jul 27, 2020 7:25 pm

Check what's the refresh rate of your monitor, if it's above 60Hz, lower it down to 60Hz and try again. The hangar also stutters less in first-person view. So just press any arrow key to jump back into the cockpit and recover from stuttering.

axeil55
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 5:30 am

Post by axeil55 » Mon Aug 10, 2020 5:41 am

D_funk wrote:
Mon Jul 27, 2020 5:44 pm
Thanks for getting back to me so quickly!

Alas, "EnableVSyncInHangar" DDraw.cfg was already set to "1." :-/ I assume there's no chance that switching it to 0 instead might make any difference? Any other suggestions?

If it makes a difference, it does the same thing regardless of if I'm entering/exiting the hanger at the beginning, end, or repairing/reloading mid-mission. Maybe it's a little less pronounced in the middle of a mission?
blue_max wrote:
Mon Jul 27, 2020 7:25 pm
Check what's the refresh rate of your monitor, if it's above 60Hz, lower it down to 60Hz and try again. The hangar also stutters less in first-person view. So just press any arrow key to jump back into the cockpit and recover from stuttering.
Thanks for this info blue_max. I was having the same issue on my system (AMD RX 580, i7 8900k, 16 GB Ram w/ a 144hz monitor).

I can confirm that changing my monitor refresh rate from 144hz to 60hz in Windows removes the slow-down. I can also confirm that using a program like MSI Afterburner to cap my framerate at 60fps also stopped the slow performance.

Changing the ini settings didn't seem to help nor did changing any option in the AMD Settings app. Very strange, but glad there's a workaround!

I have to say the game looks absolutely gorgeous with all the new models, effects and dynamic cockpits. It's like playing a whole new game!

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1368
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Mon Aug 10, 2020 4:37 pm

Thanks for confirming the fix, axeil55. I don't think you need to cap the performance at 60fps with MSI Afterburner -- only set your monitor to 60Hz.

axeil55
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 5:30 am

Post by axeil55 » Wed Aug 12, 2020 11:54 pm

blue_max wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 4:37 pm
Thanks for confirming the fix, axeil55. I don't think you need to cap the performance at 60fps with MSI Afterburner -- only set your monitor to 60Hz.
Yeah, to clarify (for anyone else having the problem now or in the future) you can fix it either by capping your framerate in MSI Afterburner (or another program) OR by doing what blue_max has recommended and setting your monitor to 60Hz. I tried it both ways and both worked.

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4736
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Fri Aug 21, 2020 10:43 am

Cpt. Spaulding wrote:
Fri Aug 21, 2020 9:25 am
Hi all there, not sure if this the right thread, but i have an issue that my FPS are dropping down to 5.0 - 6.0 if using the latest effects of blue max (1.1.4).
Cpt. Spaulding I have moved your post to the VR section so you get help easier.
https://www.xwaupgrade.com/phpBB3/viewt ... 36&t=12872
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

Cpt. Spaulding
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 2:30 pm

Post by Cpt. Spaulding » Fri Aug 21, 2020 11:44 am

Ace Antilles wrote:
Fri Aug 21, 2020 10:43 am
Cpt. Spaulding I have moved your post to the VR section so you get help easier.
https://www.xwaupgrade.com/phpBB3/viewt ... 36&t=12872
Thank you very much. :)

Post Reply