And another one done! Presenting the Rebel Platform

This is the XWA Upgrade Forums! In here you'll find some of the most talented 3D modellers and texture guys on the net!

Moderators: K_Kinnison, Darksaber, General_Trageton

Re: And another one done! Presenting the Rebel Platform

Rookie_One1
Lieutenant Commander
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 1198
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 12:01 am

Post by Rookie_One1 » Tue Apr 03, 2018 1:24 am

Knightsaber, you can make a craft or a station unarmed through craft settings in a mission, so it's possible that in the mission when running away from kothlis, it was setted up as unarmed
Rookie One, is that you?? - Ru Merleen, Rebel Spy at Imdaar Alpha
Current Holder of the Frying Pan of Death

User avatar
Jaeven
Ensign
Galactic Empire
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:18 am

Post by Jaeven » Tue Apr 03, 2018 1:57 am

That's not the case in the mission. Its AI level, however, is set to rookie. Furthermore, it only fends off TIE Bombers but that effort is pretty useless since the Executor will turn it into space dust from long range no matter what.

The thing is, we don't see it do a lot in the campaign. IIRC, it shows up in three missions, two of which are the training missions, and the final one being the Kothlis evacuation. As mentioned above, the new opt won't change how the mission plays out. The Executor will simply blast it to pieces from range as it did with the original opt.

User avatar
Driftwood
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Driftwood » Tue Apr 03, 2018 2:21 am

Mission bugs will be looked into, when I tested them I did not experience any of the transports doing anything other than sitting perfectly still, sooo?
Image
R.I.P RSF_Zjon1, RSF_Mac, RSF_Vasquez

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 9297
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Tue Apr 03, 2018 1:36 pm

Safe-Keeper wrote:
Mon Apr 02, 2018 9:05 pm
I too am curious as to why you replaced the model. It looks awesome, but I always liked the original design, so maybe I'd have preferred to have it updated and have this new model be added as a separate station. Not to diss your work, mind, it look great!
If your happy with the default design, simply don't install the new station, if you prefer if the old design was updated, maybe you could have ago at modelling an alternate version?

When I update the XWACP then you won't have a choice.

Simply put and not to diss you, "If you don't like it, make it yourself!" :D
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Cadet 1st Class
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Tue Apr 03, 2018 2:31 pm

Maybe a "For Purists" option in the installer to keep the stock platform won't hurt.

Rich C
Lieutenant JG
Posts: 746
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2001 12:01 am

Post by Rich C » Tue Apr 03, 2018 2:45 pm

Instructions for "Purists":

>Begin installation of XWAU
>Click "Cancel"

:P
"If you're going through hell, keep going."

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 9297
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Tue Apr 03, 2018 2:46 pm

@Mark_Farlander I'm Puzzled.... what would be the point in starting the installer if you choose an option not to install anything???
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
Jaeven
Ensign
Galactic Empire
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:18 am

Post by Jaeven » Tue Apr 03, 2018 2:54 pm

I mean, if we want to be really picky, there's a creative difference between every TG opt and XWAU one. And having an installer option for every single opt would make for a quiet tedious installation.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 9297
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Tue Apr 03, 2018 2:57 pm

Yeah I know the Luxury Yacht has 7 different options, it's a bugger, lol :?
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

Knightsaber
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 11:42 pm

Post by Knightsaber » Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:56 pm

So getting back to the original question, will the new platform have working guns in the game? Because that's all I want to know. Regardless of how the original was set up in the 1999 release, okay?

User avatar
Jaeven
Ensign
Galactic Empire
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:18 am

Post by Jaeven » Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:14 pm

It does have working guns.

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Cadet 1st Class
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Tue Apr 03, 2018 11:04 pm

Mark_Farlander wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 2:31 pm
Maybe a "For Purists" option in the installer to keep the stock platform won't hurt.
Darksaber wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 2:46 pm
I'm Puzzled.... what would be the point in starting the installer if you choose an option not to install anything???
Don't get me wrong, as I wrote before, I like the new Platform much more than the old one.

However, I've noticed the following mission problem:
I've played Battle 4, Mission 5: Abandon Rebel Base at Kothlis.
ATR Talon 1 and ATR Talon 2 collided with the Platform and destroyed it. CRV Razor was destroyed by the explosion.

Of course this mission can be fixed by changing the waypoints of the first priority order for ATR Talon Flight Group and/or setting a different "Jump to order 2 in R1 condition", and I will surely work on such a fix, but I thought that including the old platform as an option for purists "would not hurt" so bad.

I think this is not a matter of taste, but of "form factor".
However, the choice is yours whether to include both of them or not.

User avatar
Driftwood
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Driftwood » Tue Apr 03, 2018 11:23 pm

Obviously it's a feature of epic magnitude to add more drama to the campaign.

Or perhaps I forgot to change a couple things.

Pick one, it'll get fixed when I have a minute.
Image
R.I.P RSF_Zjon1, RSF_Mac, RSF_Vasquez

User avatar
Jaeven
Ensign
Galactic Empire
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:18 am

Post by Jaeven » Wed Apr 04, 2018 1:39 am

Driftwood wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 11:23 pm
Obviously it's a feature of epic magnitude to add more drama to the campaign.

Or perhaps I forgot to change a couple things.

Pick one, it'll get fixed when I have a minute.
I'll look into it, since there isn't a problem with the opt itself. It's just the missions that need a simple tweak.
I've played Battle 4, Mission 5: Abandon Rebel Base at Kothlis.
ATR Talon 1 and ATR Talon 2 collided with the Platform and destroyed it. CRV Razor was destroyed by the explosion.
The mental image I have of that is hilarious. Who needs an SSD when you can just send two ATRs to wipe the entire Rebel force.

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Cadet 1st Class
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Wed Apr 04, 2018 8:06 am

The mental image I have of that is hilarious. Who needs an SSD when you can just send two ATRs to wipe the entire Rebel force.
I opened a topic called "Light Transports Overpowered" in the Pilot Lounge for a reason.

User avatar
Jaeven
Ensign
Galactic Empire
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:18 am

Post by Jaeven » Wed Apr 04, 2018 6:43 pm

I've fixed the crashing issues with the ATRs, and another one with the Fey'lya's Pride.

There's still one issue that causes the Rebel platform to detonate prematurely, and thus destroying both the Fey'lya's Pride and Razor. I should have a fixed mission later this day though.

User avatar
Jaeven
Ensign
Galactic Empire
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:18 am

Post by Jaeven » Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:24 am

Both B0M09 and B4M5 have been fixed. Just a matter of setting waypoints and minor repositioning of ships.

In my test runs I had no issues, but if there are any other bugs, be sure to post them.
Attachments
Mission Fixes.zip
(19.4 KiB) Downloaded 21 times

User avatar
Driftwood
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Driftwood » Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:33 am

Thanks for saving me the trouble! I won't likely have time till the weekend to work on anything.
Image
R.I.P RSF_Zjon1, RSF_Mac, RSF_Vasquez

User avatar
Jaeven
Ensign
Galactic Empire
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:18 am

Post by Jaeven » Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:42 am

Happy to help ;)

Knightsaber
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 11:42 pm

Post by Knightsaber » Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:31 am

Jaeven wrote:
Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:14 pm
It does have working guns.
Thank you. That's all I needed to know.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 9297
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Thu Apr 05, 2018 5:50 am

Thanks Jaeven

I take it 1b0m8w.tie didn't need altering then?
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
Jaeven
Ensign
Galactic Empire
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:18 am

Post by Jaeven » Thu Apr 05, 2018 7:36 am

There were no bug reports about those and I didn't encounter any, so no altering was necessary.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 9297
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Thu Apr 05, 2018 7:57 am

Ok thanks :D
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Cadet 1st Class
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Thu Apr 05, 2018 11:37 pm

I've just flown 5 times the fixed Battle 4, Mission 5. The ATRs no longer collide with the Platform.
Excellent work, Jaeven!

However, there are still a few problems left.
During my second attempt ATR Talon 2 destroyed ATR Talon 1.
This almost surely happened because of the "Returns fire" part of the "SS Patrol + attack" order.
After I had attacked ATR Talon 1 with 2 proton torpedoes, it "returned fire" to my craft, but hit ATR Talon 2 instead.
Then ATR Talon 2 "returned fire" to ATR Talon 1, which was obviously already damaged, and destroyed it.
I guess this is part of the AI behavior, therefore we can't do much to solve it.

During my third attempt ATR Talon 2 got disabled when its hull was less than 50%, but I didn't hit the ATR with ion cannons since I was flying an X-Wing.
This should have happened because of a system failure while taking damage (the probability is related to that "Unknown strength" in BinHexEdit), so this is not a bug, but further testing is required to get confirmation.
I initially thought the "Abort mission" condition was conflicting with a "Jump to order" condition, but looking at all those conditions, this is not the case.

I didn't have enough time in these last 2 days to make a complete and detailed analysis of this mission concerning flight plan, orders and conditions for each Flight Group, but I thought these 2 incidents were worth to be posted.

One last thing: I also tried to select a B-Wing for both the missions (B0M9 and B4M5), and the result was that the B-Wing fired all the energy weapons (3 lasers and 3 ion cannons) from the same point.
I think this is a graphical bug, but I don't know how to fix it.

User avatar
Jaeven
Ensign
Galactic Empire
Posts: 258
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:18 am

Post by Jaeven » Thu Apr 05, 2018 11:55 pm

I should point out here I didn't change anything about the ATRs beyond their waypoints.

Having said that, I noticed the ATR behavior too and found it odd. Them firing on each other is indeed an AI thing that can happen on occasion. It's very rare, however.

As for them becoming disabled, I think it has to do with the way their abort mission condition. Below their departure condition the two boxes
with numbers "1" and "42".

I have no idea what those mean, however I don't think they're present on other missions.

Post Reply