In Flight Console

Want to edit the game, build your own craft and missions? Here you'll find help, tools, guides and people to discuss with.
Post Reply

In Flight Console

Justagai
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:59 pm

Post by Justagai » Sun Dec 23, 2018 8:56 am

EDIT: JeremyaFr has found a better way to access the console, see below

This may have already been found but there is a built in console for XWA.

https://i.imgur.com/QIRLuXs.png?1

To access, set 008B954B to 1 and either 008B954F or 008B9550 (bottom left and right panels respectively) to 7 (seventh screen in panel).

List of commands:

Code: Select all

HELP - Does not work
LISTMUSIC - List music states.
LISTOBJECTS - List objects in region. Does not work.
PRINTOBJECT # - Print object info. Does not work.
ECHO - Echoes str to the console
LISTKEYS - List key names for TriggerKeys
TRIGGERKEY <key> (OR <key>) - Trigger a keypress.
LISTSOUNDS - Lists the available sounds.
TRIGGERSOUND "<soundname>" - Triggers the given sound
'LISTVARIABLES - List variables for IFs.
IF <var> <condition> <num> { commands } - Executes the commands iff <var><condition><num> =P (Conditions are '<' '=' '>')
Last edited by Justagai on Sun Dec 23, 2018 8:57 pm, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3922
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sun Dec 23, 2018 11:34 am

Hello,
I knew that there is a console but I've never tested to activate it.
Nice find :applaus:

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3922
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sun Dec 23, 2018 12:24 pm

Hello,
To activate the console, there is no need to modify the exe.
Launch the game with the "console" command line parameter:

Code: Select all

XWingAlliance.exe console
Then press Ctrl+C while in flight.

You can automatically execute commands when the console is started by creating a "autoexec.cfg" file. It's a text file.

User avatar
Jaeven
XWAU Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:18 am

Post by Jaeven » Sun Dec 23, 2018 3:29 pm

Would it be possible to use the triggersound command to change the music in flight based on the current situation?

Justagai
Cadet 1st Class
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:59 pm

Post by Justagai » Sun Dec 23, 2018 8:56 pm

JeremyaFr wrote:
Sun Dec 23, 2018 12:24 pm
Hello,
To activate the console, there is no need to modify the exe.
Launch the game with the "console" command line parameter:

Code: Select all

XWingAlliance.exe console
Then press Ctrl+C while in flight.

You can automatically execute commands when the console is started by creating a "autoexec.cfg" file. It's a text file.
Good stuff!
Jaeven wrote:
Sun Dec 23, 2018 3:29 pm
Would it be possible to use the triggersound command to change the music in flight based on the current situation?
It looks like the console treats sound and music differently based on the command list but you can try "LISTMUSIC" to get the track name and use TRIGGERSOUND to play it and see if it works

User avatar
Darksaber
Vice Admiral
Posts: 10931
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Sun Dec 23, 2018 9:43 pm

Not really sure what this is useful for :? :?
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
Jaeven
XWAU Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:18 am

Post by Jaeven » Sun Dec 23, 2018 11:36 pm

Darksaber wrote:
Sun Dec 23, 2018 9:43 pm
Not really sure what this is useful for :? :?
In theory you could change the music based on what is happening in the mission. Say the start of the mission is going well for the Rebels, heroic music is playing. Then when the mission actually turns out to be a trap, it could switch to more threatening music. It would give the mission a more deep immersion and feeling if you will.
Justagai wrote:
Sun Dec 23, 2018 8:56 pm

It looks like the console treats sound and music differently based on the command list but you can try "LISTMUSIC" to get the track name and use TRIGGERSOUND to play it and see if it works
I'll give this a go later on.

Post Reply