Texture Question

Want to edit the game, build your own craft and missions? Here you'll find help, tools, guides and people to discuss with.

Texture Question

jmarso
Cadet 1st Class

Post by jmarso » Thu Apr 02, 2020 11:45 pm

Found a free .obj download of Buck Rogers starfighter and am converting it to an OPT file.

It came textured; the textures were .jpeg files that loaded normally into XWA OPT Editor.

In game, the textures seem to 'glow'. This is with the bloom effect enabled with the new effects, but even without it enabled those glowy parts are still a lot brighter than the wings, even though the colors in the texture files are all the same. (See screenshot)

Question: is there a way to tone down those textures so that they don't glow like that? Disclaimer: I'm an absolute noob at OPT editing, so think of me as an idiot child when explaining it. :?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

blue_max
XWAU Member

Post by blue_max » Fri Apr 03, 2020 4:10 am

jmarso wrote:
Thu Apr 02, 2020 11:45 pm
In game, the textures seem to 'glow'. This is with the bloom effect enabled with the new effects, but even without it enabled those glowy parts are still a lot brighter than the wings, even though the colors in the texture files are all the same. (See screenshot)
The screenshot shows that you still have the Bloom effect enabled (not sure if that's what you intended to post). To disable the bloom effect, open Bloom.cfg and set "bloom_enabled = 0".

There are only 2 reasons why a texture will bloom: 1. If the texture is illuminated, the areas that are marked as illuminated will glow; and 2. Textures will glint when reflecting light from the main light source if they are metallic/plastic.