Page 1 of 1

XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 6:53 pm
by Forceflow
The XWAUCPv 1.4 is available and here is what Darksaber has to say about it:

This update to the XWAUCP only came about due to JérémyaFr and his never ending patience and persistence in searching the XwingAlliance.exe offsets to finding new additions to the game, his new finds include:-

S-foils for any craft slot
Pilot mesh animation for any craft slot
Adding custom starfield backdrops to Skirmish Missions, such as DTMs Super backdrops
Engine sound and weapon sound behaviour for any craft
Lastly but not least is the ability to increase the max number of simultaneous weapons in a mission, replacing the laser count from 64 to 256.

Note: The Laser count is an optional installation though, as I’m not sure how it will affect the missions, you can select this option through Optional Miscellaneous Files on the Select Components Screen.

Due to the updated DDraw.dll first created by JérémyaFr and continued by Reimer, there is no longer any need to run XwingAlliance.exe through Runfirst.exe, as the update by Reimer to the DDraw.dll sets CPU affinity to single core by default.

Warning NOTE: You’ll notice, when installed, if you look in the FlightModels folder there are lots of *.txt files with the craft names, firstly DO NOT DELETE THESE *.TXT FILES, they are very important to the smooth running of the new updates to the game as they control which craft has Pilot Mesh Animation, S-foils, Engine or Weapons sounds. While other *.txt file control what craft or object are in the Hangar, where it is placed in the Hangar and how far that object or craft is from the floor.

I’ve added DTM’s Pirate Ship Yard which was released on April 20, 2017

Numerous craft have been updated to allow for the S-Foils and Pilot Animation to work, some craft you’ll expect like the T-70 X-Wing which is in slot 35 or Escort Shuttle (slot51), but then there are other craft with S-Foils that you wouldn’t expect that have S-Foils, but you’ll have to find out for yourselves by pressing the “V” key when you’re in a fighter. Most Fighters that have a pilot figure have an animated head; the only craft that doesn’t have a rotating head is the B-Wing or any variant of the B-Wing.

To put you out of your misery, here’s a list of craft with S-Foil:-

Slot1 X-Wing Fighter
Slot4 B-Wing
Slot12 Missile Boat
Slot16 Assault Gunboat
Slot17 Skipray Blastboat
Slot31 Firespray Attack Ship (Slave1)
Slot50 Lambda Shuttle
Slot51 Escort Shuttle
Slot61 Sentinal Landing Craft

That should keep you busy for at least 10mins.

There have been a few changes with craft, that being said they are still the same craft, I’ve changed the TIE Defender, the change is to the Missile Launchers. I’ve never really been that happy with the first two versions of the TIE Defenders Missile Launchers, so while creating a First Order variant of the TIE Defender, I redesigned the Launchers, and to me they are more aesthetically pleasing, so I applied them to a new version of the normal TIE Defender.

The TIEs have had a small update, they now have Flightgroup Colors as requested by Rookie_One1, and the textures have had an update and a few modelling tweaks, namely the:-
TIE Fighter
TIE Interceptor
TIE Bomber
TIE Avenger
TIE Defender
They now resemble the TIE FG Colors found in X-Wing vs. TIE Fighter

Along with the new FG Colors each TIE has had a small overhaul of the textures and a few modelling details, these also include:-
TIE Advanced x1 = updated textures
TIE X/1 Bizarro = larger gun and updated textures
TIE X/2 BigGun = larger guns and updated textures
TIE X/3 Warhead = larger launchers and updated textures
TIE X/4 Bomb = larger booster engine and updated textures
TIE X/5 Booster = larger booster engine and updated textures

Sorry but you no longer have an option of which TIE Defender or TIE Fighter to install, as I removed the old TIE Defender MKI and MKII and the ANH TIE Fighter

The X-Wings textures and the B-Wing’s textures have both been updated

All the craft that either have SFoils, Pilot/Astromech head rotation have been tweaked to rotate now.

And now thanks to JérémyaFr you have engine sounds for every craft :D

The Missions had a shadowing problem, which has now been fixed, and was kindly done by DTM, (Aug 12, 2017) adding and altering the dimensions of his starfield backdrop and fixing the illumination problem with previous versions of the missions.

I’ve included a new Fonts.dat by Behelith made original for Nvidia Cards but works very well with AMD
He adds
IMPORTANT NOTICE:
If you're playing X-Wing Alliance with XWA Upgrade and XWAhacker you'll probably notice some cut fonts. To solve the problem reduce the HUD scale to lower than 1.50 (e.g. 1.49 or lower) in XWA hacker.
For more info please visit http://www.xwaupgrade.com/phpBB3008/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=11182#p151611

Lastly we now have NEW Custom Effects by Kiarand, which include:-
- Hyperspace
- Ion and laser cannon hit (both on shielded and unshielded targets)
- Disabled effect
- Jamming effect
- Tractor beam effect
- Flames and smoke when hit
- Particles when a craft explodes
- Explosions
- Internal cockpit sparks (Red or Blue)
- Sparks caused by laser shots

Warning NOTE: I’ve made Kiarand’s Debris.dat an Optional install, as while testing, it’s been pointed out to me that the New Debris Particles can be a little over powering on the eye, the more craft are destroyed.

One last thing Please run XWA at least once before installing the XWAUCP

I think that’s about it, unless JérémyaFr finds anything else ;)

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 8:37 pm
by DTM
I think it's important to add that now XWAUP is compatible with the original xwa.tab files of the International versions. No longer need to give up translations! :D
Of course, this is true for standard installation. If you decide to install crafts that are not part of XWAUP, then you have to delete the xwa.tab file so that you can view these added crafts.

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:09 pm
by Su-tehp
If we already installed 1.3, is there anything we need to do before we install 1.4? Do we have to uninstall 1.3 and then install 1.4? Or can we just install 1.4 straightaway?

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:20 pm
by Darksaber
You could save your Pilot file .plt and the config.cfg files

But otherwise you will have to uninstall v1.3 then install v1.4

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:32 pm
by rogue518
Awesome l..... downloading!!!!

Sincerely, Rogue518

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:43 am
by Su-tehp
1.4 keeps crashing every time I try to enter a mission.

Also, there's no graphic for the Pinook fighter in the Hologram room. It just shows whatever ship was displayed last when you select the Pinook.

Methinks there are still some bugs to be worked out.

EDIT: Ugh, I uninstalled 1.4 and reinstalled 1.3 so I could play Alliance again and now 1.3 crashes when I try to load a mission! WTH is going on?

EDIT2: Ok, I uninstalled 1.3 and now my unmodified Alliance won't play either? WTF?

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:19 am
by Griffin
AMAZING! :shock:

I have to say, thank you for this part which seems to not get much mention: "Lastly but not least is the ability to increase the max number of simultaneous weapons in a mission, replacing the laser count from 64 to 256."

In the crusade missions I made, this was always an issue when there were several capital ships fighting, THANK YOU FOR THIS!!!

:jg:

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:22 am
by Su-tehp
Ok, so I had to uninstall Alliance entirely and reinstall it from Steam, but after that, I installed Upgrade 1.4 and it's working now. I lost my pilot data, but that's entirely my own fault for not backing up my pilot. Not a huge loss as I get to play through the Prologue missions with the Upgraded graphics now. Oddly enough, the framerate during Prologue mission 3 seemed to be a bit choppy, even though I didn't have a problem with playing at the 1200x1600 resolution in Prologue Missions 1 and 2 (or when I had 1.3 installed). Weird, maybe it was a fluke. We'll see.

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:19 pm
by BananaTree
I tried updating my game and uninstalled 1.3 and installed 1.4 but now i get this error when i start up the game and all i get is a black screen with this message. ("The application made a call that is invalid. Either the parameters of the call or the state of some objects was incorrect. Enable the D3D debug layer in order to see details via dedug message".) It still did this even with a fresh install of the game. I ended up having to just reinstalling 1.3 which seems to still work just fine. (Win 10 64bit Nvidia with up to date drivers)

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:28 pm
by JeremyaFr
@BananaTree
Does it make a difference is you install the previous version or the last version of ddraw.dll?

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:57 pm
by BananaTree
On 1.4 with https://github.com/JeremyAnsel/xwa_ddraw_d3d11/releases/tag/v1.3 the game will start but its stuck 4:3 with black bars.
Using https://github.com/rdoeffinger/xwa_ddraw_d3d11/releases/tag/v1.5.0 on 1.4 still gives me a full black screen but i can still hear the game menus.

("EDIT") I was able to get rid of the black bars when messing with the configs. I seem to have it somewhat working now just not with https://github.com/rdoeffinger/xwa_ddraw_d3d11/releases/tag/v1.5.0

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:09 pm
by Reimar
BananaTree wrote:On 1.4 with https://github.com/JeremyAnsel/xwa_ddraw_d3d11/releases/tag/v1.3 the game will start but its stuck 4:3 with black bars.
Using https://github.com/rdoeffinger/xwa_ddraw_d3d11/releases/tag/v1.5.0 on 1.4 still gives me a full black screen but i can still hear the game menus.


I think you need to select a non-4:3 resolution (for example with XWAHacker) to avoid the black bars.
What would help to resolve the black screen issue:
- Information on graphics card, OS and driver version
- Testing with older release (https://github.com/rdoeffinger/xwa_ddraw_d3d11/releases) to see when it broke
- Test various settings in ddraw.cfg, the ones I can particularly think of are:
- EnableMultisamplingAntialiasing
- Fullscreen
- RefreshLimit

(really annoying these kind of issues, I test with AMD, nVidia and even a lowly notebook Intel GPU and it all works fine, and you'd think that testing all 3 vendors should be enough, yet any change seems to break things for someone still... - I would have to admit to only having Windows 10 systems to test)

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:51 pm
by BananaTree
It was the RefreshLimit = 1

Had to change it to RefreshLimit = 0 to fix the problem after testing all the other options.

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 10:22 pm
by Reimar
BananaTree wrote:It was the RefreshLimit = 1

Had to change it to RefreshLimit = 0 to fix the problem after testing all the other options.


Weird, = 2 is supposed to work like the old version and should behave the same (or maybe you just didn't test that variant?).
What is your desktop refresh rate set to?
Do you by any chance use G-sync or FreeSync variable refresh rate?
Uploaded https://github.com/rdoeffinger/xwa_ddraw_d3d11/releases/download/v1.5.0/xwing_ddraw_d3d11_1.5.0_modified_refreshlimit_for_testing.zip
in case someone with the issue wants to test if it fixes RefreshLimit = 1

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 8:12 am
by BananaTree
144hz and no Gsync or Freesync.

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 1:17 am
by rmorali
The update worked perfectly to me and the models and graphical improvements are amazing! Excellent work!

The only thing is that in the skirmish missions, the starfield makes me feel a little bit dizzy. It is great, very beautiful, but there is this problem. It seems to be something with the refresh rate. Anyone else noticed something? My computer is a AMD FX-8350 4.0ghz and GPU AMD Radeon HD 7850. I´ve attached a screenshot of drivers version to this post.

Thank you!
Morali

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Sat Aug 26, 2017 12:52 pm
by Reimar
BananaTree wrote:144hz and no Gsync or Freesync.


Yeah, that explains it. Re-reading the documentation, IDXGISwapChain::Present can at most throttle to every 4th vsync, but 144/24 = 6.
That means that my alternative download I suggested should work, and without causing extreme CPU usage like changing the option.
I'll do a more proper fix and a new release.
This issue will affect anyone running at > 96 Hz refresh rate, at least if the drivers are picky enough (not sure if DX itself or the drivers trigger the error).

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 7:27 am
by kodamcity
I have frame rate issue.
1.3 frame rate was kept 29, but 1.4 remains below 18.

My computer specs are :
CPU : I5 2500K
GPU : GTX 770
RAM : 12 GB

Is the specification too low to run 1.4?

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 9:10 pm
by Su-tehp
Koda, how can you see the framerate in-game? Is there a special instruction to bring this up so it can be seen?

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:43 am
by kodamcity
Su-tehp wrote:Koda, how can you see the framerate in-game? Is there a special instruction to bring this up so it can be seen?


With xwahacker you can see the frame rate. it has several options about fps.
Anyway, is there no problem about frame rate when you playing 1.4?

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 2:02 am
by Su-tehp
I only installed 1.3 for the first time very briefly just before 1.4 came out a few days ago and didn't notice any framerate issues (but I could have been mistaken). Once I installed 1.4 however, my framerate dropped slightly. Not enough to be a true hindrance, but enough for me to notice while I was flying and spinning along my roll axis. This is why I'm curious to see my framerate while in flight.

Not to mention the other bugs I got from 1.4 that I've mentioned in this post and other threads. I love the new graphics and appreciate all the hard work that's gone into the Upgrade, but I've noticed a few bugs here and there and they're REALLY annoying.

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 7:24 pm
by Reimar
You'll need to try out the RefreshLimit option in ddraw.cfg and the 1.5.1 release of the ddraw dll.
I think most people are not having these issues, I certainly don't, so this can only be fixed (besides going back to an old version, but that just causes issues for other people) if you who are affected help out with testing.

Re: XWAUCPv1.4 available

PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 3:16 am
by kodamcity
Reimar wrote:You'll need to try out the RefreshLimit option in ddraw.cfg and the 1.5.1 release of the ddraw dll.
I think most people are not having these issues, I certainly don't, so this can only be fixed (besides going back to an old version, but that just causes issues for other people) if you who are affected help out with testing.



Thanks to reply.
I've changed aleady RefreshLimit and other options but nothing changed. Maybe it's another problem.