[Solved] Turret on YT-1300 moving without my input

Any issues with the XWAU or X-Wing Alliance? Please let us know here!

[Solved] Turret on YT-1300 moving without my input

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Lieutenant JG
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Mon Jun 29, 2020 4:09 pm

Hello pilots,
I'm here to report a problem I have after installing the Dreadnaught v2.2 and the Container Transport v2.2 over the XWAU Craft Pack v1.6. I have a GOG 18061 XWA installation.
When I fly a Corellian transport and I move to the turret position, as soon as I make even a small movement with the turret, the turret keeps moving without my input.
And the targeting crosshair sometimes disappears while I am in the turret position and then it reappears pointing to the bow of the craft.

Do the installers of the "New" crafts contain any updates which have incompatibilities between them?

CPU: Intel core i7-5930K
GPU: Nvidia Geforce GTX 980 Ti
RAM: G. Skill 32 GB 2133 MHz
OS: Windows 10 Pro
Last edited by Ace Antilles on Mon Jul 06, 2020 10:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Solved
I don't judge tactics. The Battle is the best and only Judge.

User avatar
capitanguinea
Cadet 1st Class
Galactic Empire
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 3:59 pm

Post by capitanguinea » Mon Jun 29, 2020 5:49 pm

That turret is in autofire mode. You did not take control of it but it is controlled by AI piloting the ship. Could be some screwed setting.

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Lieutenant JG
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Mon Jun 29, 2020 6:26 pm

As far as I know the turret fire is by default linked to forward position and when I jump to the turret it is still in "Autopilot disengaged" mode.
I guess the turret fire linked to forward position by default might somehow explain the crosshair problem when I am in the turret position.

What I cannot explain is the turret slowly moving. If this were caused by the AI piloting the ship, then should it be directed to a target?
And most relevantly is this supposed to happen even when my craft has come to a full stop?
I don't judge tactics. The Battle is the best and only Judge.

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4324
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Mon Jun 29, 2020 6:34 pm

I believe I have experienced this myself. Install Corellian YT-1300 v2.0 and check again
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Lieutenant JG
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Tue Jun 30, 2020 2:50 am

I've installed Corellian YT-1300 v2.0 but this did not solve the problem. Unfortunately another problem came after the installation.
Now in the CMD part of my craft (YT-1300 transport) is hidden while I'm still in the hangar.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
I don't judge tactics. The Battle is the best and only Judge.

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Lieutenant JG
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Wed Jul 01, 2020 8:07 am

OK, I've found the solution to the problem in the screenshot: https://www.xwaupgrade.com/phpBB3/viewt ... 10&t=12712
Thanks
I don't judge tactics. The Battle is the best and only Judge.

User avatar
rogue518
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2224
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2000 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by rogue518 » Wed Jul 01, 2020 3:59 pm

Thanks Mark_Farlander for the links and Ace Antilles for the info.... ;) I thought I was going nuts regarding the Corellian Freighter... :D

Sincerely, Rogue518
'Stay in Attack formation!' Darth Vader aka: Anakin Skywalker During the 'Battle Of Yavin'

User avatar
capitanguinea
Cadet 1st Class
Galactic Empire
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 3:59 pm

Post by capitanguinea » Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:55 pm

You discovered a very important thing about interaction between opt and AI. That is quite usefull!

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Lieutenant JG
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Thu Jul 02, 2020 6:40 pm

OK, the problem in the CMD is solved with this
Delete
[Exterior]
LodDistance = 0x7fffffff

but the problem in the first post of this topic (moving turret on CORT) is still there.

Did anyone encounter the same problem?
I don't judge tactics. The Battle is the best and only Judge.

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4324
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Thu Jul 02, 2020 6:46 pm

Mark_Farlander wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 6:40 pm
OK, the problem in the CMD is solved with this
Delete
[Exterior]
LodDistance = 0x7fffffff

but the problem in the first post of this topic (moving turret on CORT) is still there.

Did anyone encounter the same problem?
Yes. I'm trying to look into it. It's either a hook or an opt issue I think I've narrowed it down to
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Lieutenant JG
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Thu Jul 02, 2020 6:51 pm

I already experienced the same problem in the past (https://www.xwaupgrade.com/phpBB3/viewt ... 10&t=12041 -last post) so it probably has nothing to do with the recent updates.
I thought it was due to the application of the "fix gun convergence for AI" patch with XwaExePatcherWindow (XwaExePatcher-1.0.25), but I was probably wrong (my apologize to Jeremy).
I don't judge tactics. The Battle is the best and only Judge.

Rookie_One1
Lieutenant Commander
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 1494
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 12:01 am

Post by Rookie_One1 » Thu Jul 02, 2020 7:37 pm

@mark it's an opt issue, something wrong with the lod, already fixed the file on my side and sent it to ace
Rookie One, is that you?? - Ru Merleen, Rebel Spy at Imdaar Alpha
Current Holder of the Frying Pan of Death

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Lieutenant JG
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Thu Jul 02, 2020 7:39 pm

Thanks a lot.
I don't judge tactics. The Battle is the best and only Judge.

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4324
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Thu Jul 02, 2020 7:56 pm

Rookie_One1 wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 7:37 pm
@mark it's an opt issue, something wrong with the lod, already fixed the file on my side and sent it to ace
We're talking about Turret issues. Are you saying the LOD is affecting the turret moving too?
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4324
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:09 pm

I have done some checking and I think it's either an EXE patch or a Hook / DDraw issue since the XWAUCP and before June 13th.
The issue is not present in the XWAUCP. It's not present in the newer Opts themselves overwritten to the XWAUCP.
The only other things left are the Hooks which got added or any patching to the EXE
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Lieutenant JG
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:19 pm

As far as I know there are some hooks that get installed "with the OPT", I mean when I install the craft the hook is automatically installed as well.
After uninstalling the game, I've just reinstalled the GOG v18061 of X-Wing Alliance.

Now I have to reinstall the mods to check or exclude exactly what causes this problem and also this (https://www.xwaupgrade.com/phpBB3/viewt ... 35&t=12751 ) as well.
Please could you tell me what to install and in what order to install?
I don't judge tactics. The Battle is the best and only Judge.

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4324
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:28 pm

All I've done to cause the issue to happen is install the YT-1300_v2.0 opt after the working XWAUCP.
Other issues aside this makes the turret move in every gunner craft.

The installer updates every hook up to the point of June 13th and the Ddraw.

If you take the new Opts and Ini and put them over the working XWAUCP then the issue is not present in the XWAUCP. Obviously it does not look pretty or correct though. So this leads me to assume it's not the newer Opts themselves.

The leaves a patch to the EXE file from the new YT, maybe a list or text file, which seems doubtful or the Hooks themselves.

Please try this. A working copy of XWAUCP with no turret movement. Do not install any NEW craft pack. Just install the latest Hooks.
See if the issue occurs then or not. If it does then it's one of the Hooks.
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Lieutenant JG
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:54 pm

I've downloaded and installed the XWAUCP v1.6. No issue with the turrets of the YT-1300.
I've downloaded and run XwaHooksSetup and now I have the Setup directory ready.
I'm going to copy and paste 1 hook at a time and try B0M2 every time. OK?
I don't judge tactics. The Battle is the best and only Judge.

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4324
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:57 pm

Mark_Farlander wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:54 pm
I've downloaded and installed the XWAUCP v1.6. No issue with the turrets of the YT-1300.
I've downloaded and run XwaHooksSetup and now I have the Setup directory ready.
I'm going to copy and paste 1 hook at a time and try B0M2 every time. OK?
Just test in a Skirmish. That's all I did.
Set nothing to attack you and select the YT1300
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Lieutenant JG
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Fri Jul 03, 2020 12:07 am

Dinput.cfg and Dinput.dll did not cause problems.


Hook_32bpp.dll
The game crashes while I'm loading a mission.


Forgive me, I don't have much practice with hooks.
I'm afraid I have to put some other files with the Hook_32bpp.dll in order to work.
I don't judge tactics. The Battle is the best and only Judge.

Rookie_One1
Lieutenant Commander
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 1494
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 12:01 am

Post by Rookie_One1 » Fri Jul 03, 2020 12:16 am

Ace Antilles wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 7:56 pm
Rookie_One1 wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 7:37 pm
@mark it's an opt issue, something wrong with the lod, already fixed the file on my side and sent it to ace
We're talking about Turret issues. Are you saying the LOD is affecting the turret moving too?
sorry, got mixed up, was answering to the one who "fixed" the LOD
Rookie One, is that you?? - Ru Merleen, Rebel Spy at Imdaar Alpha
Current Holder of the Frying Pan of Death

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Lieutenant JG
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Fri Jul 03, 2020 12:23 am

As far as I can see from the related readme file, hook_32bpp.dll can be installed without any other thing installed at the same time.
So the game crash should not occur.
I don't judge tactics. The Battle is the best and only Judge.

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Lieutenant JG
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Fri Jul 03, 2020 12:29 am

I'm almost sure the game runs out of memory and crashes in kernelbase.dll.
I've already experienced this problem months ago.
I'll try removing this hook and installing the remaining ones.
Confirmed: without this hook the game runs smoothly.


Hook_Backdrops.dll - No problem
Hook_Countermeasures.dll - No problem

Hook_D3d.cfg and Hook_D3d.dll - The game crashes while I'm loading a mission
Since this hook improves FPS, I'm afraid this is an out-of-memory as well.
Let's try without it.
Without it all goes smoothly.

Hook_D3dinfos_Textures.cfg and Hook_D3dinfos_Textures.dll - No problem
Hook_Engine_Sound.dll - No problem
Hook_Exterior.dll - No problem
Hook_Hangars.cfg and Hook_Hangars.dll - No problem
Hook_Hull_Icon.dll - No problem
Hook_Interdictor.dll - No problem
Hook_Joystick_Ff.cfg and Hook_Joystick_Ff.dll - No problem
Hook_Lightmaps.dll - No problem
I don't judge tactics. The Battle is the best and only Judge.

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Lieutenant JG
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Fri Jul 03, 2020 1:11 am

Hook_Mission_Objects.cfg and Hook_Mission_Objects.dll

This hook causes the turret of the YT-1300 to slowly move without input from the player.

Without Hook_Mission_Objects.cfg and Hook_Mission_Objects.dll there is no problem with the turret.
Last edited by Mark_Farlander on Fri Jul 03, 2020 1:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
I don't judge tactics. The Battle is the best and only Judge.

User avatar
Mark_Farlander
Lieutenant JG
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:47 pm

Post by Mark_Farlander » Fri Jul 03, 2020 1:36 am

Also I've noticed that in the Readme of Hook_mission_tie.dll there is no mention of the fact that the craft count limit per region is increased from 96 to 192.
Has this feature been removed?
I need it for custom made missions. Thanks
I don't judge tactics. The Battle is the best and only Judge.

Post Reply