Resolve BackBuffer GPU Error

Any issues with the XWAU or X-Wing Alliance? Please let us know here!

Resolve BackBuffer GPU Error

Dax
Cadet 4th Class

Post by Dax » Thu Jul 01, 2021 7:17 pm

I've been playing on the Megapatch with updates 1-3 just fine. Downloaded update 4 before starting B7M1, which I would be starting for the first time. As the mission tried to load (at the briefing summary screen), I got three or four error messages in quick succession. The first ones were all the same: "The GPU device instance has been suspended. Use GetDeviceRemovedReason to determine the appropriate action." The final one was the same but had this as the header: "Resolve BackBuffer."

I'm not a programmer, but I did try searching for possible solutions both on the forum and on the web and just wasn't able to come up with anything that made sense to me. I also tried uninstalling all XWAU stuff, then reinstalling up to patch v3 to see if v4 was the problem. No change.

I hope this clarifies my earlier posts at the bottom of an older thread. Now creating this new thread to more directly address/update the problem. Any help from wiser souls than I will be greatly appreciated. Please let me know if I've left out important info that would help. Bummed over here that I can't play Endor. :hilfe:

Ace Antilles
Admiral (Moderator)

Post by Ace Antilles » Thu Jul 01, 2021 7:56 pm

I don't believe this is a XWAU issue. I'm no expert but from what I can see online this is a graphics card issue with some games.
Possibly to do with overclocking or drivers. Try updating your drivers for one thing.
if you google it there are a few scenarios with fixes but if they work I couldn't say.
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost

blue_max
XWAU Member

Post by blue_max » Thu Jul 01, 2021 9:06 pm

@Dax Can you try running the same mission again, but disabling the effects? You can disable the effects using the Babu Frik configurator.

Dax
Cadet 4th Class