Pilot meshes animation

A Forum dedicated to the Suggestion, Creation and Editing of XWA Dynamic Link Library Files

Moderators: Darksaber, General_Trageton, Forceflow, DTM, JeremyaFr

Re: Pilot meshes animation

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10859
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Mon Oct 07, 2019 1:05 pm

Hi Jeremy, just a quick question, it it possible to add the rotating head meshes to anything beside craft

I only ask, as you know I have the HangarWorkStand.opt with a Figures added to them, either a StormTrooper or a Rebel Soldier, it's possible to set the heads to rotate?

I tried setting the heads as RotaryCommunicationSystem, and I also added a HangarWorkStand.ini adding the [Pilot} section to it, but it didn't work the head remained static.

just wondering if it is possible to alter an offset to do this, as it would add a bit more dynamic to the hangar

Just thought the Hangar Crane Rotates, but that is quiet random and it also rotates 360 degrees, so using or replacing that wouldn't be ideal, as the figure would look like girl from the Exorcist lol

Thanks, this is just a query not a necessity :D
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2229
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Mon Oct 07, 2019 3:32 pm

Hello,
I've tested the "HangarWorkStand" in DSUCP v2.6.59.

I've added a [Pilot] section to "HangarWorkStand.ini":

Code: Select all

; HangarWorkStand.ini

[Pilot]
;mesh index, angle, speed, behavior
19, 50, 2, 0
I've launched the Pilot Proving Ground and the result is that the mesh rotates.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10859
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Mon Oct 07, 2019 3:52 pm

Blimey, I realise what I did now, I created the HangarWorkStand.ini added the info, what I didn't realise was that I the opt I wanted to add the rotation to was call RebHangarWorkStand.opt

the in the default.ini

I changed {HangarObjects} to
FlightModels\HangarWorkStand.opt = FlightModels\RebHangarWorkStand.opt

But all I needed to do was to add a RebHangarWorkStand.ini

And yes it rotates

Derrrrrr!! :irre:

Thanks Jeremy, I must have been tired :)
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2229
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Thu Feb 06, 2020 7:50 pm

UPDATE

Hello,
I've updated the pilot hook.

You can now define a different animation when the cockpit is displayed.
This can be used to fix a bug with the vanilla A-Wing.

To define wich meshes are animated when the cockpit is displayed, create a file named "FlightModels\[Model]PilotCockpit.txt" or create a section named "[PilotCockpit]" in "FlightModels\[Model].ini".
When the "[PilotCockpit]" is empty, the values of the "[Pilot]" section are used.
The format is the same as the "[Pilot]" section.

Sample:

Code: Select all

;AWingPilotCockpit.txt
;mesh index, angle, speed, behavior
empty

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10859
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Thu Feb 06, 2020 8:57 pm

So this is just for pilot/droid meshes only?

Just a thought, you know in some opts we have what looks like redundant meshes i.e. cubes/faces that correspond rotating meshes in the base, exterior and/or cockpit opts

So take the xwing base opt for example the rotating wing meshes are 1, 2, 3, 4, so in the Exterior opt they have to be the same meshes 1, 2, 3, 4, this is not a problem right, the Cockpit opt is then the same meshes 1, 2, 3, 4

But what if you couldn't see the wings in the cockpit (you can, but lets pretend you can't) so if you couldn't see the wing those meshes would be pointless, so I would remove the wings, but then meshes 1, 2, 3, 4 become other meshes, which when you pressed the "V" key other meshes would rotate, which you don't want, so to resolve this problem small cubes or faces are placed within the opt hidden from view these cubes or faces then become meshes 1, 2, 3, 4 replacing the wings and rotate unseen.

But what if you didn't need these cubes or faces within the cockpit opt????

I'm thinking more of the ini files for this as it would mean including 3/6 more *.txt files, plus I'm not even sure it can be done or if it is easier just to keep the cubes

But is it possible to add sections to ini file

[SFoils]

[SFoilsExterior]
(if section empty or doesn't exist then the values of the "[SFoils]" section are used.)

[SFoilsCockpit]
(if section empty or doesn't exist then the values of the "[SFoils]" section are used.)

[SFoilsLandingGears]

[SFoilsExteriorLandingGears]
(if section empty or doesn't exist then the values of the "[SFoilsLandingGears]" section are used.)

[SFoilsCockpitLandingGears]
(if section empty or doesn't exist then the values of the "[SFoilsLandingGears]" section are used.)

You see where I'm going with this?

Like I say I'm not sure if it's possible of if it's worth the hassle, it will probably be easier just to add the hidden cubes, plus it might be too confusing having different sections with different rotating meshes.

I'm beginning to talk myself out of this idea, seemed to be not a bad idea at first, but I'm not so sure it is now.

Jeremy, if it is possible but too much hassle, don't bother doing it, just let me know if it would have been possible :D I think it would be best to keep it as simple as possible, meaning the way it is at the moment :)

Thanks
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2229
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Fri Feb 07, 2020 9:44 am

Hello,

The pilot hook is just for pilot/droid meshes only.

For your suggestion,
Yes, it is possible.
But I think that it would be confusing to add multiple sections with S-Foils data. Isn't it simpler as it is? Maybe add the cockpit sections?

The main reason to separate the cockpit section was to fix the animation with the vanilla A-Wing, without the ini or txt files.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10859
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Fri Feb 07, 2020 10:12 am

Like I said above it would be too confusing, so yes leave it as it is please

It was just an idea, that when thought through properly wasn't such a good idea :irre:

(nice to know it could be done) :D

Thanks for the answer though :D
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
keiranhalcyon7
Lieutenant JG
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:41 am

Post by keiranhalcyon7 » Sat Feb 08, 2020 12:10 am

Your suggestion made sense to me, DS.

What, exactly, is this vanilla A-Wing animation bug?

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2229
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sat Feb 08, 2020 9:40 am

Use the previous version of the pilot hook, and a vanilla A-Wing.
Go to the Pilot Proving Grounds and switch craft to the A-Wing.
You will see the cockpit animation.

Bman
Lieutenant
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:01 pm

Post by Bman » Sun Feb 09, 2020 6:18 am

I always thought since day one, that it would have been easier to make the base Model_Name.opt, Model_NameCockpit.opt, and Model_NameExterior.opt files independent from each other when using the SFoils, Pilot, and new related hooks. But I'm not sure how that would logistically be implemented. Currently, specifying which meshes to rotate causes extra work by having to check the other two .opt files to make sure the index number/sort order of the corresponding mesh matches, or things will look weird. It also means sometimes adding a blank transparent mesh if needed. This can create extra file size bloat and what if you were close to maxing out to 50 meshes in an exterior model, but the base model has half that mesh count ? On some occasions, perhaps just the base model needs rotation on a few meshes but not the other two related .opt files but you still have to coordinate things. Just my two-cents.
W-I-P: ISD-II, XQ-1 Platform1, (Imp) Escort Carrier, Misc, & TFTC.

Post Reply