Flightgroup colors >4 not loading?

A Forum dedicated to the Suggestion, Creation and Editing of XWA Dynamic Link Library Files

Moderators: Darksaber, General_Trageton, Forceflow, DTM, JeremyaFr

Post Reply

Flightgroup colors >4 not loading?

User avatar
General_Trageton

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 12679
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by General_Trageton » Thu May 14, 2020 9:41 pm

OK, I mentionened in another thread that I was unable to get the more exotic laser colors like black or purple working. I checked to verify I had the required OPTs and all.

Now, remembering that those are Flighghroup colors, I remember a bug I encountered first a few days prior to releaseing the VSD, in the test mission I had set up I had made use of the mission_tie hook to change one of the Test VSDs' Flightgroup color to 5 or 6. For a time, this did work, but then at some point, it no longer did. I don't hink I deleted any files or changed anything major about the game, so I'm a little lost....
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton
Vince T's Modding HQ | My Steam Workshop
Vince T's X-Wing HQ New VXHQ Website WIP

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10852
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Thu May 14, 2020 10:59 pm

I have all the latest hooks installed, I just installed the Blue Max's effects, so with that the DDraw.dll is practically upto date but I don't have the dynamic cockpit enabled

And I see all the different lasers you don't
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
General_Trageton

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 12679
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by General_Trageton » Fri May 15, 2020 8:14 am

I did a clean reinstall last night, installed DSUCP and updated all the hooks and installed the TIE Revenant.

Not working.

While installing the DSUCP I chose Battlefront Lasers (S + M + L) .... not sure if that's got something to do with it....
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton
Vince T's Modding HQ | My Steam Workshop
Vince T's X-Wing HQ New VXHQ Website WIP

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10852
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Fri May 15, 2020 8:52 am

nope shouldn't have anything to do with it, the standard and battlefront are exactly the same, except the battlefront FG for green and red are slightly different, the other FG's are exactly the same

This is weird

What are you installing XWA from (not that it should make any difference) ?
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
General_Trageton

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 12679
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by General_Trageton » Fri May 15, 2020 9:14 am

I currently run the Steam version, but i also habe the CDs buried away somewhere
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton
Vince T's Modding HQ | My Steam Workshop
Vince T's X-Wing HQ New VXHQ Website WIP

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10852
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Fri May 15, 2020 10:51 am

I've just done the same install, but with gog, dsucp, I didn't manually update the hooks, I just installed the TIE Revenant which automatically updates them, test the game and it crashed

What I forgot was to include Jeremy's newest DDraw.dll, none of my installers, beside the craft pcks install it, and the version in the craft packs is out of date

the reason It crashed, I installed the newest DDraw.dll and DDraw.cfg and it run just fine with the different lasers

Going to test on Steam know I know what version your using
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10852
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Fri May 15, 2020 11:13 am

Ok tested Steam, installed DSUCP and the TIE Revenant to install all the hooks added the newest DDraw.dll
guess what
Black lasers and Purple Ions

I couldn't reproduce the problem your having, sorry mate :(
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2223
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Fri May 15, 2020 2:04 pm

I can reproduce the problem.
There is a bug in the latest weapon color hook.
I will fix it.

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2223
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Fri May 15, 2020 2:42 pm

UPDATE

Hello,
I've fixed the weapon color hook.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10852
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Fri May 15, 2020 2:46 pm

Strange I wonder why couldn't I reproduce it, I had the version from 11/05/2020 installed :? :?
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
General_Trageton

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 12679
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by General_Trageton » Fri May 15, 2020 4:59 pm

Hmm I was able to get the black lasers working for a short moment, but now the feature's off again, despite the updated weapons hook.
- Installed the steam game - played > worked
- Installed DSUCP > Played classic TIE Reaper, got black lasers but distorted resolution
- Ran XWA Exe Patcher to enable some fixes (Top of the list)
- Updated all hooks > CTD upon mission start
- Ran XWA Hacker to fix resolution and hope to fix CTD > CTD upon mission start
- Installed BlueMax effects > Game works again, but lasers are green
After that, removing the hooks and/or deinstalling blue_max' effects doesn't make a difference.

I believe the issue was caused by something done by EXE Patcher or, a bug in another hook or XWA Hacker....

Question: Are there any necessary settings in EXE Patcher, that aren't covered by regular hooks already?
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton
Vince T's Modding HQ | My Steam Workshop
Vince T's X-Wing HQ New VXHQ Website WIP

User avatar
Ace Antilles
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 3499
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Fri May 15, 2020 5:05 pm

Sure you know but be careful with DDraw as Jeremys version is different to the one Bluemax effects installs.
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
General_Trageton

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 12679
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by General_Trageton » Fri May 15, 2020 5:39 pm

I found the cause
After installing XWA and DSUCP, I ran XWA Hacker and did 2 things:
- change resolution to 2560x1440
- Set FPS Limit up to 79
And here's the culprit. The FPS Limit seems to impact the laser colors hook.
- 30 FPS: OK
- 47 FPS: Bugged
- 59 FPS: Bugged
- 79 FPS: Bugged
- 119 FPS: OK
I went back and forth between the settings to confirm and the results are consistent. Anything except 30 or 119 FPS will break the laser colors.
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton
Vince T's Modding HQ | My Steam Workshop
Vince T's X-Wing HQ New VXHQ Website WIP

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2223
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Fri May 15, 2020 6:05 pm

The CTD on mission start happens because the d3d hook requires an updated DDraw that support this hook.

Setting the FPS option in XwaHacker is not compatible with the time hook. You have to choose between setting the option in XwaHacker (and disabling the time hook) or using the time hook (and not setting the option in XwaHacker).
But you should have seen an error message box when launching the game.

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10852
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Fri May 15, 2020 6:09 pm

General_Trageton wrote:
Fri May 15, 2020 4:59 pm
Question: Are there any necessary settings in EXE Patcher, that aren't covered by regular hooks already?
I have some patches installed with the DSUCP, to check which just copy and paste the xwa.exe into the patcher folder, which ever are installer should be enabled already
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
General_Trageton

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 12679
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by General_Trageton » Fri May 15, 2020 6:16 pm

JeremyaFr wrote:
Fri May 15, 2020 6:05 pm
The CTD on mission start happens because the d3d hook requires an updated DDraw that support this hook.

Setting the FPS option in XwaHacker is not compatible with the time hook. You have to choose between setting the option in XwaHacker (and disabling the time hook) or using the time hook (and not setting the option in XwaHacker).
But you should have seen an error message box when launching the game.
OK, didn't know those were related.
Is there any way I can undo those settings in xwahacker rather than having to reinstall the bloody game for the 7th time?
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton
Vince T's Modding HQ | My Steam Workshop
Vince T's X-Wing HQ New VXHQ Website WIP

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2223
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Fri May 15, 2020 6:20 pm

Just set 30 FPS in XwaHacker and let the hook remove the FPS limit.

In XwaExePatcher, the patches that are already included in a hook are marked with a "Hook" tag.

Post Reply