Tips to Increase the Performance of the New Shaders

Here you can find help for how to best run and setup your XWA VR experience.

Re: Tips to Increase the Performance of the New Shaders

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2560
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Wed May 06, 2020 11:40 am

Have you tried the windowed hook?
This hook enables windowed mode.

To set the window position and size, modify "hook_windowed.cfg":
X = left value
Y = top value
Width = width value
Height = height value
The minimum value for "Width" is 640.
The minimum value for "Height" is 480.

When "Width" or "Height" is 0, default values are used: the window will be fullscreen.

User avatar
XDragon
Cadet 2nd Class
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by XDragon » Wed May 06, 2020 2:56 pm

keiranhalcyon7 wrote:
Wed May 06, 2020 7:55 am
Oh I get it... in XDragon's case, a setting to have the game do the "old school" thing and directly control the screen resolution would be helpful. It's become kind of an unusual use case, but maybe not an unreasonable request?

XDragon, out of curiosity, are you still using a CRT monitor?

No, it's my old college flat-screen from 2007. figured why not use a perfectly fine 21 inch tv?
JeremyaFr wrote:
Wed May 06, 2020 11:40 am
Have you tried the windowed hook?

This hook enables windowed mode.

To set the window position and size, modify "hook_windowed.cfg":
X = left value
Y = top value
Width = width value
Height = height value
The minimum value for "Width" is 640.
The minimum value for "Height" is 480.

When "Width" or "Height" is 0, default values are used: the window will be fullscreen.
that seemed to help though when doing a mission the amount of ship on screen plus the new effects seem to drop the FPS, and using hyperspace kills it for a few seconds. but i think this computer is just too old. It's at least 9 years old and could use some serious upgrades with processing and graphics cards.

I really appreciate the help. I think i'll have to just uninstall the new effects for now until i can get some upgrades

andy_tpog
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 8:50 am
Contact:

Post by andy_tpog » Thu May 07, 2020 10:35 am

I've just installed the upgrades after discovering XWAU yesterday. Firstly I'll just say I'm loving it and thanks for making this available.

Although the game is definitely playable I do get the odd lag and FPS drop, so I'm going to try some of the suggestions here. One thing I wanted to clarify if I could; there were some settings I had to "commit to" during the installation. If there are any settings that I selected and now find I would have preferred to go with other options, can I change these by running the exe again? Or am I best finding the relevant points in the dll and cfg files? I've been through and installed all the elements that aren't included in the main craft pack. If I were to run the Craft Pack exe again would I have to reinstall any of the other elements?

I do get a big lag/fps drop (pretty much full on freeze) during the "cinematic" of you taking off from the hangar at the start of a mission. I can however just hit space to skip out of it when it freezes.

System:
Windows 10
CPU: i7-4790k
8GB Ram
GPU: Nvidia GTX 970 OC
The Expanded Universe is my canon.

I'm writing a Sci Fi Graphic Novel, if you'd like to support check it out here https://www.patreon.com/andyjclarke

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4595
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Thu May 07, 2020 11:54 am

andy_tpog wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 10:35 am
I do get a big lag/fps drop (pretty much full on freeze) during the "cinematic" of you taking off from the hangar at the start of a mission. I can however just hit space to skip out of it when it freezes.P
I've had that issue for a while not sure what's causing it. Only happens from external views.
My PC setup is almost exactly the same but c'mon get yourself up to 16gb of ram now lol shouldn't cost too much ;)
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

andy_tpog
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 8:50 am
Contact:

Post by andy_tpog » Thu May 07, 2020 12:19 pm

Ace Antilles wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 11:54 am
My PC setup is almost exactly the same but c'mon get yourself up to 16gb of ram now lol shouldn't cost too much ;)
Oh I'm with you, I've been meaning to upgrade to 16 GB for so long but for some reason it hasn't happened yet. Maybe now's the time to get it ordered.
The Expanded Universe is my canon.

I'm writing a Sci Fi Graphic Novel, if you'd like to support check it out here https://www.patreon.com/andyjclarke

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4595
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Thu May 07, 2020 1:35 pm

andy_tpog wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 12:19 pm
Ace Antilles wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 11:54 am
My PC setup is almost exactly the same but c'mon get yourself up to 16gb of ram now lol shouldn't cost too much ;)
Oh I'm with you, I've been meaning to upgrade to 16 GB for so long but for some reason it hasn't happened yet. Maybe now's the time to get it ordered.
I've ended up with 32gb ram as it was so cheap I thought why not. Sadly it won't help XWA issues much.
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

andy_tpog
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 8:50 am
Contact:

Post by andy_tpog » Thu May 07, 2020 1:58 pm

Ace Antilles wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 1:35 pm
Sadly it won't help XWA issues much.
Not to worry, I mean the game is perfectly playable, I know there are more discerning people out there that demand absolutely perfect fps, but for the time being whilst things are being developed I'm happy with how pretty the game looks now.
Ace Antilles wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 1:35 pm
My PC setup is almost exactly the same
This being the case, could I trouble you to ask what settings you run XWAU on? Specifically screen resolution? I'm currently running on 1920x1080 as that is my monitor/desktop setup.
Thanks.
The Expanded Universe is my canon.

I'm writing a Sci Fi Graphic Novel, if you'd like to support check it out here https://www.patreon.com/andyjclarke

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4595
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Thu May 07, 2020 2:35 pm

Windows 10
CPU: i7-4790k
32GB Ram
GPU: Nvidia GTX 970
1920 x 1080

You could have an i15 and the best GFX in the world and it wouldn't help too much right now.
The game engine limitations is being pushed harder than the gfx capabilities.
Some of the new ships are very high detailed and that can have a knock on effect. So some missions perform better than others.
We're finding fixes to issues, we did with the VSD and Casino, that really helps performance but there is still work to do. It's a matter of everyone balancing out what they want to live with.
Either the best look but some lag or drop some stuff down but play smoother. It's not just an effects problem I think.

I would like to work out that hangar bug though.
I would recommend that everyone updates and downloads all the XWA Hooks Setup from the Download page too.
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

andy_tpog
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 8:50 am
Contact:

Post by andy_tpog » Thu May 07, 2020 3:15 pm

Ace Antilles wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 2:35 pm
I would recommend that everyone updates and downloads all the XWA Hooks Setup from the Download page too.
Thanks for your help, I'll make sure to download that and I'll spend a bit of time finding a happy middle ground of performance and looks.
The Expanded Universe is my canon.

I'm writing a Sci Fi Graphic Novel, if you'd like to support check it out here https://www.patreon.com/andyjclarke

szoreny
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 4:53 pm

Post by szoreny » Thu May 07, 2020 3:26 pm

For me 1.1.3 effects lag is definitely caused by the new 2D renderers - toggling off both new text and radar renderers via the updated cfg Blue Max provided returns the fps to 1.1.2 levels which for me is very playable.

As for the hangar takeoff freeze Ace and others mentions, I find that's fixed on my system if I enable v-sync in ddraw.cfg - so if you don't need an uncapped framerate try that.

andy_tpog
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 8:50 am
Contact:

Post by andy_tpog » Thu May 07, 2020 4:17 pm

andy_tpog wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 3:15 pm
Ace Antilles wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 2:35 pm
I would recommend that everyone updates and downloads all the XWA Hooks Setup from the Download page too.
Thanks for your help, I'll make sure to download that and I'll spend a bit of time finding a happy middle ground of performance and looks.
I've just installed all the Hooks and jumped into the game and I've lost all models. I'm in what should be the hangar and got nothing but a starscape and hud.
The Expanded Universe is my canon.

I'm writing a Sci Fi Graphic Novel, if you'd like to support check it out here https://www.patreon.com/andyjclarke

User avatar
blue_max
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1290
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Thu May 07, 2020 5:51 pm

andy_tpog wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 4:17 pm
I've just installed all the Hooks and jumped into the game and I've lost all models. I'm in what should be the hangar and got nothing but a starscape and hud.
Make sure your hook_d3d.cfg file has the following:

IsHookD3DEnabled = 1

andy_tpog
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 8:50 am
Contact:

Post by andy_tpog » Thu May 07, 2020 6:14 pm

blue_max wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 5:51 pm
andy_tpog wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 4:17 pm
I've just installed all the Hooks and jumped into the game and I've lost all models. I'm in what should be the hangar and got nothing but a starscape and hud.
Make sure your hook_d3d.cfg file has the following:

IsHookD3DEnabled = 1
Fixed, thank you!
The Expanded Universe is my canon.

I'm writing a Sci Fi Graphic Novel, if you'd like to support check it out here https://www.patreon.com/andyjclarke

Hook Jezabelle
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 5:52 am

Post by Hook Jezabelle » Tue May 12, 2020 7:56 am

andy_tpog wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 6:14 pm
blue_max wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 5:51 pm
andy_tpog wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 4:17 pm
I've just installed all the Hooks and jumped into the game and I've lost all models. I'm in what should be the hangar and got nothing but a starscape and hud.
Make sure your hook_d3d.cfg file has the following:

IsHookD3DEnabled = 1
Fixed, thank you!
Sidious Damned !!! I've reinstalled the entire game yesterday LOL - I didn't find this entry :(
thanks anyway

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4595
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Tue May 12, 2020 12:13 pm

blue_max wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 5:51 pm
andy_tpog wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 4:17 pm
I've just installed all the Hooks and jumped into the game and I've lost all models. I'm in what should be the hangar and got nothing but a starscape and hud.
Make sure your hook_d3d.cfg file has the following:

IsHookD3DEnabled = 1
This fix is sorted now if you install updated hooks isn't it?
szoreny wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 3:26 pm
For me 1.1.3 effects lag is definitely caused by the new 2D renderers - toggling off both new text and radar renderers via the updated cfg Blue Max provided returns the fps to 1.1.2 levels which for me is very playable.

As for the hangar takeoff freeze Ace and others mentions, I find that's fixed on my system if I enable v-sync in ddraw.cfg - so if you don't need an uncapped framerate try that.
Theres a clever hangar fix in the works.

Also peeps the Dynamic Cockpits effects FPS so don't think everything is just the sparkly the shiny stuff ;)
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

Post Reply