New Starfield does not work on New Campaings

Need help editing the game? Check for help here!

Moderators: Darksaber, General_Trageton, Forceflow

Post Reply

New Starfield does not work on New Campaings

labc133
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:47 am

Post by labc133 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 3:12 am

Hello,

I can't seem to be able to use the new starfields on any missions past the vanilla missions. (B7M4)..

I'm creating missions on a new .Ist (B8..B9..B10 etc) and they don't work! They work just fine on Battles 0-7, though.

Any suggestions?

User avatar
ual002
Ensign
Galactic Empire
Posts: 486
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:23 am

Post by ual002 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:34 pm

You have you set them up in your custom missions. See the super backdrops forum topic. Or, you can open up some of the missions in allied that have them in order to see how to add them in your own missions.
For the glory of his majesty Emperor Palpatine! Image Image Image Image

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10312
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Thu Sep 19, 2019 12:59 pm

Another question is have you applied "NewStarfield_2.0.fgp" to the mission in Allied? Tutorial Here

Plus do you have the DSUCP or XWAUCP installed or are you trying to add the missions to a vanilla install of XWA, you need either of the craft packs installed first for the starfields to work

It's questions like this that will help us help you
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

labc133
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:47 am

Post by labc133 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 1:16 pm

Yes, I have the DSUCP... and yes I have applied it in Allied. If I use the mission I'm working on in a vanilla slot, (i.e. B2m1) the backdrop works perfectly. It's just when I use a new slot (i.e. B8m1) that the backdrop doesn't work right.

It might be that I don't have the .ini file for the missions. I will try it out as soon as I get home.

User avatar
ual002
Ensign
Galactic Empire
Posts: 486
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:23 am

Post by ual002 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 1:51 pm

Ok, so the basics can be found in another thread but the backdrops are essentially square images that get placed in the Up, Down, Left, Right, Back and Forward positions to create a "skybox" The vanilla missions have all been altered by the XWAUpgrade Team, but in order to have them in your own missions you need to add them in allied or yogme.
For the glory of his majesty Emperor Palpatine! Image Image Image Image

User avatar
Darksaber

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 10312
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Thu Sep 19, 2019 1:58 pm

Ah yes some of the new background images are in Planet2.dat, so the [MissionName].ini placed in the Missions Dir is essential
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

labc133
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:47 am

Post by labc133 » Fri Sep 20, 2019 2:11 am

:^^: Woohoo! It worked...

How do y'all do that voodoo that you do so well

User avatar
Driftwood
Lieutenant Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 1701
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Driftwood » Fri Sep 20, 2019 2:35 am

Hundreds if not thousands of cumulative hours poking around for over a decade for most of us. And there's always more to learn, especially with the most recent updates.

Pick something and get good. I would suggest mission making since we're lacking in active content creators right now beyond the 3d aspect, aside perhaps from DTM.

labc133
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:47 am

Post by labc133 » Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:20 pm

Oh, I am creating my own little "saga"... It starts months after the Garvisom-Pellaeon agreement in Vision of The Future. It's Empire sided. I have completed like 4 campaigns (5 missions each approx) up till now and I'm working on them everyday. I'm having friends over this weekend actually to help me with voices for the missions. :)

User avatar
ual002
Ensign
Galactic Empire
Posts: 486
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:23 am

Post by ual002 » Fri Sep 20, 2019 5:02 pm

Well, If you need VA work poke me, I don't mind helping.
For the glory of his majesty Emperor Palpatine! Image Image Image Image

labc133
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:47 am

Post by labc133 » Fri Sep 20, 2019 6:41 pm

ual002 wrote:
Fri Sep 20, 2019 5:02 pm
Well, If you need VA work poke me, I don't mind helping.
Yes! I need all the help I can get!

Should I just send you the lines and you can send me 8-bit wavs? I'll do the editing. All I need are the wavs.

Thanks!!! :shock: :shock:

User avatar
ual002
Ensign
Galactic Empire
Posts: 486
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:23 am

Post by ual002 » Sat Sep 21, 2019 5:34 pm

Do you have discord? I'm still trying to figure out how to tell people my username, but its displayed as UAL002 like here.
For the glory of his majesty Emperor Palpatine! Image Image Image Image

labc133
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:47 am

Post by labc133 » Sun Sep 22, 2019 3:26 pm

mine's ilios#6077

Post Reply