[OPTing] OPTech v2

Need help editing the game? Check for help here!
Post Reply

Re: [OPTing] OPTech v2

User avatar
Darksaber
Vice Admiral
Posts: 10932
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Wed Jun 10, 2020 10:13 am

A few requests please Jeremy

1. On the Transformation page, would it be possible to move the other stuff down and add a mesh selection box, the same as on the Hitzone page please

2. Also on the Transformation page (and if it's possible to add a selection box), beside the selection box would it possible to add a Reset Transformation button, so when you select an individual mesh or multiple different meshes then press the Reset Transformation button only meshes selected would be reset

It would work on the same principal as if you where click on Calculate/Transformations from the main menu, but only for a single or multiple selected meshes

3. Selected Hardpoint boxes, on smaller craft such as fighters the boxes are quiet large,, but when you come to select a hardpoint on a starship you can't see the boxes unless you zoom really close in to the craft then you have to scan along the starship hull to see which hardpoint you have selected. My question is could the selection boxes be made larger depending on the size ration of the craft, the larger the craft the larger the hardpoint selection box is, test it yourself, small craft a fine, but test a starship, select a hardpoint and see it you can zoom in directly to that Hardpoint, unless you to the same for selected hardpoints as you did for selected meshes and faces???? hmmmm?

Right this next one I'll try and request this again, hopefully without someone coming along and pissing me off AGAIN!!!

4. Here goes, when you move meshes up or down the mesh names go out of order

Mesh 1
Mesh 2
Mesh 5
Mesh 4
Mesh 3

Instead of manually renaming them, would it be possible to add a menu item to the Main Menu/Fix category something like "Mesh Number Order" when clicked the meshes would be renamed in order like so

Mesh 1 to Mesh 1
Mesh 2 to Mesh 2
Mesh 5 to Mesh 3
Mesh 4 to Mesh 4
Mesh 3 to Mesh 5
so on

You see where I'm going with this? Obviously some people like renaming the meshes to other thing besides Mesh XX, but the Mesh or other named Mesh would only be renamed Mesh XX if you actually click on the "Mesh Number Order". (Remember the Meshes with your different names would only be renamed "If" you where to manually click the link)!!!!!!!!!!!!

So Jeremy is this possible? :?

5. Last thing, I see you added a # Number system for the meshes in Xwa Opt Editor, could this be applied to Optech too?

#
0 Mesh 1
1 Mesh 2
2 and so on
3
4

------------------------------------------------------------------------

I think most of these are reasonable requests, some are doable some might not be

but before anyone starts pissing me off again about the 4th request, lets just see if it's possible for Jeremy to do this, and before anyone start arguing the toss about it!

Thank you!
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
General_Trageton

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 13037
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by General_Trageton » Wed Jun 10, 2020 12:15 pm

Might I just suggest ...

nah just kidding! #4 sounds great and I particularly love #5!
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton
Vince T's X-Wing HQ | My Steam Workshop

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2473
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Wed Jun 10, 2020 12:48 pm

All seem doable.

User avatar
Darksaber
Vice Admiral
Posts: 10932
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Wed Jun 10, 2020 12:50 pm

Thank you :D :D
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2473
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Wed Jun 10, 2020 4:42 pm

Done

EDIT: link removed

Changes are:
- on the transformation tab, move the Animate buttons to the top right
- on the transformation tab, add the mesh list at the top left
- on the transformation tab, add a reset transformation button
- on the render screen, modify the selected hardpoints boxes
- on the menu, add a rename meshes number menu item
- add item index in the list boxes
Last edited by JeremyaFr on Wed Jun 10, 2020 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Darksaber
Vice Admiral
Posts: 10932
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Wed Jun 10, 2020 6:25 pm

Brilliant

Only one thing, the selected hardpoint boxes, on smaller craft they are now are harder to see, the opposite has happened, large craft are better to see but the box or circle now gets lost in the white mesh lines as it white itself, possibly if the circle thickness could be made slightly wider on the outer rim or probably better would be to color the circle to say orange so it stands out

Last thing the "Mesh Number Order" you named it Name Meshes Number? could this be changed please :herzen1:

Just tested the "Mesh Number Order" (lol), sorry but could you possibly change Mesh to UPPER case please MESH as long as I've used Optech it's always been UPPER case, sorry :( :(


Other than those 3 things totally brilliant well done :D :gold: :gold: :gold:
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2473
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Wed Jun 10, 2020 7:13 pm

EDIT: link removed

I've set the outer color of the selected hardpoints to orange.
I've set the menu item to "Mesh Number Order".
The meshes names are now uppercase.
Last edited by JeremyaFr on Thu Jun 11, 2020 3:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Darksaber
Vice Admiral
Posts: 10932
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Wed Jun 10, 2020 7:33 pm

Your a very nice man :) You'll be rewarded very well in Valhalla

Image
Image
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2473
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Thu Jun 11, 2020 4:00 pm

UPDATE

Hello,
I've merged the changes from the WIP into the stable version.

User avatar
Darksaber
Vice Admiral
Posts: 10932
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Thu Jun 11, 2020 5:44 pm

cheers :D
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
General_Trageton

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 13037
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by General_Trageton » Thu Jul 16, 2020 1:40 pm

Hey Jeremy, I have 2 more requests!
1) Would it be possible to add a function to assign one or more EngineGlows to a different mesh without loosing their attributes?
E.g. it's currently assigned to Mesh1 but I'm redoing Mesh1 and want to "move" the EG to the new version. Coordingates, Dimensions, Colors etc. should remain the same, only the assigned mesh would change.

2) Same thing just for Hardpoints.
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton
Vince T's X-Wing HQ | My Steam Workshop

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2473
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Thu Jul 16, 2020 3:46 pm

WIP

Hello,
I've added copy and paste buttons to the HPs and EGs controls.

EDIT: link removed

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2473
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sun Jul 19, 2020 11:55 am

UPDATE

Hello,
I've merged the changes from the WIP version into the stable version.

User avatar
General_Trageton

Fleet Admiral (Administrator)
Posts: 13037
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by General_Trageton » Mon Jul 20, 2020 4:06 pm

Hey Jeremy, thanks for the update. I meant to give feedback sooner but forgot about it. It‘s working great and saves me a lot of time!
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton
Vince T's X-Wing HQ | My Steam Workshop

Post Reply