
Custom Hangars
Moderator: JeremyaFr
Re: Custom Hangars
- Darksaber
- Posts: 10931
- Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
- Contact:
So that means I have to use a FamilyBase.ini to change hangar objects, so they are different from the regular hangar objects 

“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station
- John Lydgate
Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station
- JeremyaFr
- Posts: 3840
- Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
- Contact:
UPDATE
Hello,
I've updated the hangars hook.
You can now define the position of the Hangar Roof Crane.
To set the Hangar Roof Crane position, set "HangarRoofCranePositionY = value Y" and "HangarRoofCranePositionZ = value Z". The values are integers.
The default value for HangarRoofCranePositionY is 786.
The default value for HangarRoofCranePositionZ is -282.
Hello,
I've updated the hangars hook.
You can now define the position of the Hangar Roof Crane.
To set the Hangar Roof Crane position, set "HangarRoofCranePositionY = value Y" and "HangarRoofCranePositionZ = value Z". The values are integers.
The default value for HangarRoofCranePositionY is 786.
The default value for HangarRoofCranePositionZ is -282.
- JeremyaFr
- Posts: 3840
- Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
- Contact:
Hello,
Here is something to test:
This modifies the arrival and departure animation of the Shuttle in the hangar. Instead of going to the right, the Shuttle will go to the bottom. I can also make it going straight instead of going down.
If this patch works well, I will make it hookable and include it to the hook.
Here is something to test:
Code: Select all
; hangar shuttle animation
At offset 5E59B, replace 01443507 with 2944350F.
At offset 5E770, replace 01443507 with 2944350F.
If this patch works well, I will make it hookable and include it to the hook.
-
- Posts: 1157
- Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:01 pm
Thank you x2!
To make it easy for others . . .
Edit: Tested. This seems to work but I think the "Y" trajectory of the shuttle et al, needs to go further out into the open hangar about 4 to 8 meters then drop down if launching from ISD or VSD. If some hangar bays are longer, the shuttle will drop through the floor. The platform stations would require a longer straight and then upward angle take off. It would be great if we could manually edit those X, Y, Z values in a *.cfg, shuttle.txt, missionName_Shuttle.txt or Shuttle.ini that hook could read from ? Good start!
To make it easy for others . . .
Code: Select all
<Patch Name="Hangar Shuttle/or Craft Replacement Path Animation">
<Item Offset="5E59B" From="01443507" To="2944350F"/>
<Item Offset="5E770" From="01443507" To="2944350F"/>
</Patch>
W-I-P: TFTC, MC Viscount Cr., ISD-II Avenger, NL-1 Platform, Ton-Falk Esc. Cr., & Misc.
- JeremyaFr
- Posts: 3840
- Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
- Contact:
WIP
Hello,
Here is a WIP version of the hangars hook.
You can now modify the Shuttle animation.
To replace the objects, create a file named "FlightModels\[Model]HangarObjects.txt" or "[MissionDir]\[Mission]_HangarObjects.txt".
Or create a section named "[HangarObjects]" in "FlightModels\[Model].ini" or "[MissionDir]\[Mission].ini".
To set the shuttle animation, set "ShuttleAnimation = value". value is "Right", "Top", or "Bottom". The default value is "Right".
EDIT: link removed
Hello,
Here is a WIP version of the hangars hook.
You can now modify the Shuttle animation.
To replace the objects, create a file named "FlightModels\[Model]HangarObjects.txt" or "[MissionDir]\[Mission]_HangarObjects.txt".
Or create a section named "[HangarObjects]" in "FlightModels\[Model].ini" or "[MissionDir]\[Mission].ini".
To set the shuttle animation, set "ShuttleAnimation = value". value is "Right", "Top", or "Bottom". The default value is "Right".
EDIT: link removed
- JeremyaFr
- Posts: 3840
- Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
- Contact:
WIP
I've added a setting to define an extra straight line animation for the shuttle. While the shuttle is in the straight line, the s-foils remain closed.
To set the shuttle straight line animation length, set "ShuttleAnimationStraightLine = value". value is an integer. The default value is 0.
EDIT: link removed
I've added a setting to define an extra straight line animation for the shuttle. While the shuttle is in the straight line, the s-foils remain closed.
To set the shuttle straight line animation length, set "ShuttleAnimationStraightLine = value". value is an integer. The default value is 0.
EDIT: link removed
- JeremyaFr
- Posts: 3840
- Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
- Contact:
UPDATE
Hello,
I've merged the changes from the WIP version to the stable version.
Hello,
I've merged the changes from the WIP version to the stable version.
- JeremyaFr
- Posts: 3840
- Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
- Contact:
UPDATE
Hello,
I've updated the hangars hook.
I've fixed the Shuttle elevation.
You can see the difference by replacing the Shuttle with a craft that has S-Foils.
Hello,
I've updated the hangars hook.
I've fixed the Shuttle elevation.
You can see the difference by replacing the Shuttle with a craft that has S-Foils.
W-I-P: TFTC, MC Viscount Cr., ISD-II Avenger, NL-1 Platform, Ton-Falk Esc. Cr., & Misc.
- JeremyaFr
- Posts: 3840
- Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
- Contact:
UPDATE
Hello,
I've updated the hangar hook.
Now, when the hangar is inverted, the shadows are not rendered.
Hello,
I've updated the hangar hook.
Now, when the hangar is inverted, the shadows are not rendered.
- JeremyaFr
- Posts: 3840
- Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
- Contact:
Hello,
Here is WIP version of the hangar hook.
EDIT: link removed
I've improved performance.
I've added a setting to disable the shadows.
Here is WIP version of the hangar hook.
EDIT: link removed
I've improved performance.
I've added a setting to disable the shadows.
; Draw shadows: 0 = no, 1 = yes
DrawShadows = 1
; Shadow lod: 0 = most detailed, 1 = less detailled
ShadowLod = 0
- ual002
- Posts: 982
- Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:23 am
That's fantastic for external carrier style hangars. Thank you sir.





- Vince T
- Posts: 14029
- Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2001 11:01 pm
- Contact:
Hey Jeremy, I've just had a thought.
Reviewing some of my older capships for possible hangar OPTs I noticed some of them had rather narrow hangars with the entrance facingdownward rather than sideways. That brought up 2 ideas:
1) Would it be able to add a variable to the hook that changes the launch animation from moving forward to moving downward, dropship-style? There would be no need to change the craft's orientation as it would just follow the gravitational pull.
or 2) Would it be possible to change the orientation of the ship(s) so they face upward/downward? That way I could simply rotate the hangar and simulate the very same effect.
If it's not possible or too much a hassle, no problem, it's a rather niche thing.
Reviewing some of my older capships for possible hangar OPTs I noticed some of them had rather narrow hangars with the entrance facingdownward rather than sideways. That brought up 2 ideas:
1) Would it be able to add a variable to the hook that changes the launch animation from moving forward to moving downward, dropship-style? There would be no need to change the craft's orientation as it would just follow the gravitational pull.
or 2) Would it be possible to change the orientation of the ship(s) so they face upward/downward? That way I could simply rotate the hangar and simulate the very same effect.
If it's not possible or too much a hassle, no problem, it's a rather niche thing.
Your ship, Captain. I need a drink. - Vince Trageton
Vince T's X-Wing HQ - where the bad guys get their gear
Vince T's X-Wing HQ - where the bad guys get their gear
- JeremyaFr
- Posts: 3840
- Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
- Contact:
WIP
EDIT: link removed
To set the elevation delta of the player craft animation, set "PlayerAnimationElevation = value". value is an integer. The default value is 0.
By setting IsHangarFloorInverted and PlayerAnimationElevation, you can have a dropship style.
EDIT: link removed
To set the elevation delta of the player craft animation, set "PlayerAnimationElevation = value". value is an integer. The default value is 0.
By setting IsHangarFloorInverted and PlayerAnimationElevation, you can have a dropship style.
- ual002
- Posts: 982
- Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:23 am
This is fantastic sir. Maybe we could redesign the dreadnoughts now. What would be awesome is to have floor hangar door animations triggered by the launch button, or even a camera view button since a lot of them are redundant. I'm freaking out.
Also realized that in the same vein as the Gozanti I modified from DTM, according to the wookipedia, the Carrack has exteral racks for 4 fighters.
Also realized that in the same vein as the Gozanti I modified from DTM, according to the wookipedia, the Carrack has exteral racks for 4 fighters.





- Driftwood
- Posts: 2173
- Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:01 pm
- Contact:
I always envisioned the carracks launching from racks positioned on the sides.ual002 wrote: ↑Fri May 22, 2020 8:02 pmThis is fantastic sir. Maybe we could redesign the dreadnoughts now. What would be awesome is to have floor hangar door animations triggered by the launch button, or even a camera view button since a lot of them are redundant. I'm freaking out.
Also realized that in the same vein as the Gozanti I modified from DTM, according to the wookipedia, the Carrack has exteral racks for 4 fighters.
- JeremyaFr
- Posts: 3840
- Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
- Contact:
UPDATE
Hello,
I've merged the changes from the WIP versions into the stable version.
Hello,
I've merged the changes from the WIP versions into the stable version.
-
- Posts: 1157
- Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:01 pm
Awesome. Thanks Jeremy.
B/t/w, on the traditional CR90 Corvettes i.e. like Tantive IV, they have a small cargo/hangar bay underneath as seen at end of ROTS (where Kenobi boards Sr. Organa's ship).
I know a few of DTM's new models have hangars on sides, I think are based on "Rebels" show. Pretty cool too.
B/t/w, on the traditional CR90 Corvettes i.e. like Tantive IV, they have a small cargo/hangar bay underneath as seen at end of ROTS (where Kenobi boards Sr. Organa's ship).
I know a few of DTM's new models have hangars on sides, I think are based on "Rebels" show. Pretty cool too.
W-I-P: TFTC, MC Viscount Cr., ISD-II Avenger, NL-1 Platform, Ton-Falk Esc. Cr., & Misc.
- Q
- Posts: 456
- Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 12:01 am
- Contact:
I thought the corvette seen in RotS is a CR70, no?Bman wrote: ↑Sun May 24, 2020 1:39 amAwesome. Thanks Jeremy.
B/t/w, on the traditional CR90 Corvettes i.e. like Tantive IV, they have a small cargo/hangar bay underneath as seen at end of ROTS (where Kenobi boards Sr. Organa's ship).
I know a few of DTM's new models have hangars on sides, I think are based on "Rebels" show. Pretty cool too.
https://i.pinimg.com/originals/24/bd/13 ... a43d57.jpg

https://community.fantasyflightgames.co ... d-carrier/
"I like work; it fascinates me. I can sit and look at it for hours."
-
- Posts: 1157
- Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:01 pm
I don't know. CR70 vs 90? I assumed Sr. Organa's ship from ROTS was the Tantive-IV that Leia inherited as seen at end of Rogue One which ties into ANH movie. One of them with a bottom hangar or cargo hold--hatch. Probably a wiki answer out there. The actual studio model didn't seem to have one when I viewed it in person at the traveling exhibit, but concept still makes sense.
W-I-P: TFTC, MC Viscount Cr., ISD-II Avenger, NL-1 Platform, Ton-Falk Esc. Cr., & Misc.
- ual002
- Posts: 982
- Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:23 am
Jeremy,
Is there any way to load the animated shuttle at a specified height different than the plane the player launches at? I'm trying to build a rack launch ISD hangar for TIEs, but I noticed the new VSD has the animated shuttle turned off. That's because if turned on its hovering at the same height as the player in the TIE rack.
Maybe something like this:
[HangarObjects]
;Replace Opts
LoadShuttle = 1
ShuttleModelIndex = 50
ShuttleMarkings = 0
ShuttleAnimation = Bottom
** Shuttle height = -345 **
LoadDroids = 1
IsHangarFloorInverted = 0
Is there any way to load the animated shuttle at a specified height different than the plane the player launches at? I'm trying to build a rack launch ISD hangar for TIEs, but I noticed the new VSD has the animated shuttle turned off. That's because if turned on its hovering at the same height as the player in the TIE rack.
Maybe something like this:
[HangarObjects]
;Replace Opts
LoadShuttle = 1
ShuttleModelIndex = 50
ShuttleMarkings = 0
ShuttleAnimation = Bottom
** Shuttle height = -345 **
LoadDroids = 1
IsHangarFloorInverted = 0





- Driftwood
- Posts: 2173
- Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:01 pm
- Contact:
Is there a way to also manually control the x/y/z coordinates rather than just the height?
- ual002
- Posts: 982
- Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:23 am
I was playing around with the "inside hangar", "Accelstart" and "accelend" nodes common on the meshes of all hangars thinking they might influence the shuttle, but alas I cant for the life of me sort out the actual function of them.
Long story short, yes, this would be awesome too.




