Hooks

A Forum dedicated to the Suggestion, Creation and Editing of XWA Dynamic Link Library Files

Moderator: JeremyaFr

Post Reply

Re: Hooks

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:26 pm

I don't know why the game crashes.

I think it is not related to the ddraw dll.

User avatar
Red_Leader
Ensign
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Red_Leader » Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:31 pm

That's so weird. Here is an updated crash report.


Faulting application name: XWingAlliance.exe, version: 2.0.0.2, time stamp: 0x3765a9b7
Faulting module name: KERNELBASE.dll, version: 10.0.18362.535, time stamp: 0x5bd9df62
Exception code: 0xe06d7363
Fault offset: 0x001135d2
Faulting process id: 0x345c
Faulting application start time: 0x01d5c8bbdd6f900e
Faulting application path: C:\PROGRA~2\LUCASA~1\X-WING~1\XWingAlliance.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNELBASE.dll
Report Id: 19abe11e-8ba1-4a27-b5f5-dfa49a82d55f
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
"I want my sanity back." - Wedge Antilles
https://www.freewebs.com/redleaderxwa/

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:34 pm

This one looks like a known issue.
It probably means that the game has run out of memory.

User avatar
Red_Leader
Ensign
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Red_Leader » Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:38 pm

Damn.. are there any known fixes by any chance?
"I want my sanity back." - Wedge Antilles
https://www.freewebs.com/redleaderxwa/

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:51 pm

Except cheking that the game runs with a dedicated GPU, no.

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:57 pm

Does the game crashes with any other craft than the Space Colony 1?

User avatar
Red_Leader
Ensign
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Red_Leader » Sat Jan 11, 2020 9:01 pm

Besides Space Colony 1, just the casino so far.
"I want my sanity back." - Wedge Antilles
https://www.freewebs.com/redleaderxwa/

User avatar
keiranhalcyon7
Lieutenant JG
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:41 am

Post by keiranhalcyon7 » Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:27 am

Have you tried downloading and re-installing just those craft?

User avatar
Red_Leader
Ensign
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Red_Leader » Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:24 am

keiranhalcyon7 wrote:
Sun Jan 12, 2020 12:27 am
Have you tried downloading and re-installing just those craft?
I have not. You think its worth a try?

Another crash happened tonight, this time with the sensor array (from Battle 1 Mission 7) when destroyed.
"I want my sanity back." - Wedge Antilles
https://www.freewebs.com/redleaderxwa/

User avatar
keiranhalcyon7
Lieutenant JG
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:41 am

Post by keiranhalcyon7 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 5:15 am

Red_Leader wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:24 am
I have not. You think its worth a try?

Another crash happened tonight, this time with the sensor array (from Battle 1 Mission 7) when destroyed.
Reinstalling one of the craft (space colony 1, say) to see if it fixes the issue is relatively low-effort, so I'd say yeah. It briefly "smelled" like a crash bug I'd encountered before, which had to do with spawning space debris from destroyed craft; a (not terribly useful) workaround was to avoid looking at the spawned debris. You could try that, or perhaps turning space debris off outright. But the fault offset is in a very different section of the exe from that crash, so I now doubt they're related.

User avatar
Red_Leader
Ensign
Rebel Alliance
Posts: 386
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Red_Leader » Wed Jan 15, 2020 1:05 am

keiranhalcyon7 wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 5:15 am
Red_Leader wrote:
Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:24 am
I have not. You think its worth a try?

Another crash happened tonight, this time with the sensor array (from Battle 1 Mission 7) when destroyed.
Reinstalling one of the craft (space colony 1, say) to see if it fixes the issue is relatively low-effort, so I'd say yeah. It briefly "smelled" like a crash bug I'd encountered before, which had to do with spawning space debris from destroyed craft; a (not terribly useful) workaround was to avoid looking at the spawned debris. You could try that, or perhaps turning space debris off outright. But the fault offset is in a very different section of the exe from that crash, so I now doubt they're related.
I tried reinstalling Space Colony 1, same thing - it crashes when destroyed. I would even fly away from it, I wouldn't even target it and it would still result in a crash. I tried turning off space debris as well, no luck. Is this something to do with my system? I got my computer maybe 2008 or 2009-ish. I can post computer specs if need be.
"I want my sanity back." - Wedge Antilles
https://www.freewebs.com/redleaderxwa/

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sat Feb 01, 2020 1:29 pm

UPDATE

Hello,
I've improve performance of the main hook.

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sat Feb 22, 2020 1:22 pm

UPDATE

Hello,
I've updated the main hook (DInput.dll).

When the game's exe ends, statistics about the hooks are written to OutputDebugString.

You can see the stats with DebugView.

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sun Mar 01, 2020 5:32 pm

UPDATE

Hello,
I've fixed a crash in the mission objects hook.

The crash was related to the turrets and appears when you press the F key.

User avatar
Ramshu
Cadet 2nd Class
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 10:42 am
Contact:

Post by Ramshu » Thu Mar 12, 2020 1:49 pm

Hi i want to report two "bugs"
-xwa_hook_normals: when it is active, the game does not exceed 15fps
-xwa_hook_d3d: When I activate it in the cfg, the game crashes after the loading screen before "fly"

SOLVED: Need update ddraw to 1.38+
Last edited by Ramshu on Thu Mar 12, 2020 7:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

"Nasios pa vola"

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Thu Mar 12, 2020 7:10 pm

Hello,

To use the d3d hook, you need a modified DDraw dll.

My version has been updated in version 1.3.8.
blue_max is currently updating his version.

If you don't use an updated DDraw dll with support for the d3d hook, then the game will crash when enabling the d3d hook.

User avatar
Ramshu
Cadet 2nd Class
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 10:42 am
Contact:

Post by Ramshu » Thu Mar 12, 2020 7:35 pm

JeremyaFr wrote:
Thu Mar 12, 2020 7:10 pm
Hello,

To use the d3d hook, you need a modified DDraw dll.

My version has been updated in version 1.3.8.
blue_max is currently updating his version.

If you don't use an updated DDraw dll with support for the d3d hook, then the game will crash when enabling the d3d hook.
Yeah just now i update ddraw to 1.38 and now working fine.

Thanks

"Nasios pa vola"

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Sun Mar 22, 2020 11:36 am

UPDATE

Hello,
I've updated the opt limit hook.

I've added generating the "spec.rci" file.

Now, when the "spec.rci" file is missing, then it will be generated when you launch the game.

haui
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 9:29 am
Contact:

Post by haui » Sat Apr 04, 2020 8:04 am

Hi
i installed this mod (EffectsByBlueMaxv1.1.1) and it look really great.
But when i enable the dynamic cockpit the target HUD is not shown. So i can lock teh target but have no information of it.
You have an idea what i was doing wrong??

Ahh i think i found it. is it possible that Dynamic Cockpit is only working for X-Wing and A-Wing at the Moment??

User avatar
Trevor
Ensign
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:11 pm

Post by Trevor » Sat Apr 04, 2020 11:30 am

Wrong topic, post in the "EffectsByBlueMaxv1" topic.
However, you can re-enable the HUD by opening x-wing.dc file and removing "erase region"s
I beleve Blue is working on a simpler toggle for this.

Trev

User avatar
keiranhalcyon7
Lieutenant JG
Posts: 577
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:41 am

Post by keiranhalcyon7 » Fri Apr 24, 2020 5:56 am

JeremyaFr wrote:
Sun Mar 01, 2020 5:32 pm
UPDATE

Hello,
I've fixed a crash in the mission objects hook.

The crash was related to the turrets and appears when you press the F key.
This new version (dated 3/1/2020) is giving me a crash whenever I try to enter a turret with the G key (tested on the YT-1300 and YT-2000). The version dated 1/2/2019 does not crash. Installation order is: DSUCP2.6; hooks update to latest; Effects by Blue Max v1.1.2. Crash report:

Code: Select all

Faulting application name: XwingAlliance.exe, version: 2.0.0.2, time stamp: 0x3765a9b7
Faulting module name: Hook_Mission_Objects.dll, version: 1.0.0.1, time stamp: 0x5e5befca
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00009044
Faulting process id: 0x30750
Faulting application start time: 0x01d619fb0468f71b
Faulting application path: G:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\Star Wars X-Wing Alliance DSUCP2.6 BMFX\XwingAlliance.exe
Faulting module path: G:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\Star Wars X-Wing Alliance DSUCP2.6 BMFX\Hook_Mission_Objects.dll
Report Id: 522b860d-85ee-11ea-92b0-6cf049546fd7
Last edited by keiranhalcyon7 on Wed May 06, 2020 7:48 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Fri Apr 24, 2020 9:02 am

Hello,
Can you try previous versions to see in which version the crash appears?

EDIT: link removed

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4637
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Fri Apr 24, 2020 10:48 am

I had that crash too when entering a turret.
Got XWAUCP only. Must be that recent mission hook update.
Now I know which hook I can try to test.
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
Ace Antilles

Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 4637
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Fri Apr 24, 2020 2:37 pm

JeremyaFr wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 9:02 am
Hello,
Can you try previous versions to see in which version the crash appears?
I occurs in the last hook_mission_tie WIP that you released. The one that adds Flightgroup stuff.
When you go to a gunner station it crashes.
I put back on the last version I had which would have been pretty recent and it's fine.
For less confusion I've added both to a zip file for you to check. Hope it helps.
FAULTY Hook.zip

I'm also using Hook_Mission_Objects
Ver 1.0.0.1 Dated: 1/3/2020 7.24pm
That works fine when pressing F also with the older working hook.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
JeremyaFr
Commander
XWAU Member
Posts: 2579
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Fri Apr 24, 2020 2:51 pm

I can reproduce the crash.

The faulty hook is not the mission object hook but the mission tie hook.

Thanks for reporting the crash.

Post Reply